Shaman's Crossing (The Soldier Son Trilogy #1) - Robin Hobb7.64

Young Nevare Burvelle is the second son of a second son. Traditionally in Gernia, the firstborn son is heir to the family fortunes, the second son bears a sword and the third son is consecrated to the priesthood. Nevare will follow his father – newly made a lord by the King – into the cavalry; to the frontier and thence to an advantageous marriage, to carry on the Burvelle name. It is a golden future, and Nevare looks forward to it with relish.

For twenty years King Troven's Cavalla have pushed the frontiers of Gernia out across the grasslands, subduing the fierce tribes of the plain on its way. Now they have driven the frontier as far as the Barrier Mountains, home to the enigmatic Speck people. The Specks – a dapple-skinned, forest-dwelling folk – retain the last vestiges of magic in a world which is becoming progressive and technologised. The 'civilised' peoples base their covictions on a rational philosophy founded on their belief in the good god, who displaced the older deities of their world. To them, the Specks are primeval savages, little better than beasts. Superstitions abound; it is said that they harbour strange diseases and worship trees. Sexual congress with them is regarded as both filthy and foolhardy: the Speck plague which has ravaged the frontier has decimated entire regiments.

All these beliefs will touch Nevare's training at the Academy; but his progress there is not as simple as he would wish. He will experience prejudice from the old aristocracy: as the son of a 'new noble' he is segregated into a patrol comprising other new nobles' sons, all of whom will encounter injustice, discrimination and foul play in that hostile and deeply competitive environment. In addition, his world view will be challenged by his unconventional girl-cousin Epiny; and by the bizarre dreams which visit him at night. And then, on Dark Evening, the carnival comes to Old Thares, bringing with it the first Specks Nevare has ever seen...

Rate this book

Release date: July 4, 2005
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy
Average rating: 7.64/10
Total ratings: 36
Updated: January 12, 2015

The Soldier Son Trilogy :: Series

The Soldier Son Trilogy follows the life of Nevare Burvelle and his destiny. He begins as a soldier son of a newly elevated Lord of the Kingdom of Gernia, student at the King\'s Cavalla Academy, but his life doesn\'t turn out the way they expected a soldier son\'s to be.

Shaman's Crossing (The Soldier Son Trilogy #1)7.64
Forest Mage (The Soldier Son Trilogy #2)7.56
Renegade's Magic (The Soldier Son Trilogy #3)7.78


3/10 |
July 22, 2011
I had heard such wonderful things about Robin Hobb so at the bookstore I picked this up on a whim. After three chapters, I exchanged it for The Dragon Keeper. It seemed horribly repetetive and unnecessarily verbose for the simplicity of the ...
10/10 |
November 26, 2007
Shaman's Crossing is the first book of The Soldier Son Trilogy. Shaman's Crossing is an excellent fantasy book. It's well written, interesting and fascinating. If you've read other Robin Hobb's books, you should read this book. I'm sure that you'll love it.