Elric at the End of Time

by Michael Moorcock
Elric at the End of Time - Michael Moorcock 8.50   4

A collection of short fiction and non-fiction which contains only three Elric-related items.

  • Introduction
  • Elric at the End of Time (1981)
  • The Last Enchantment (1978)
  • The Secret Life of Elric of Melnibone (an essay) (1964)
  • Sojan the Swordsman (a combined version of all the Sojan stories) (1957-58)
  • New Worlds – Jerry Cornelius (a letter) (1972)
  • In Lighter Vein (a note to bibliography) (1976)
  • The Stone Thing (1974)

Elric at the End of Time novella is a satire on the Elric series, featuring characters from Moorcock's End of Time novels. It was also published separately as a large format, illustrated novella with artwork by Rodney Matthews (1987).


Elric at the End of Time contains the last Elric story written by Michael Moorcock. Here is a dark feast of fantasy for all who relish supernatural adventure at its finest and most bizarre.

Elric of Melnibone shook a bone-white fist at the greedy, glaring stars – the eyes of all those men whose souls he had stolen to sustain his own enfeebled body. He looked down. Though it seemed he stood on something solid, there was only more blackness falling away below him. It was as if he hung at the centre of the universe. And here, too, were staring points of yellow light. Was he to be judged? His half-sentient runesword, Stormbringer, in its scabbard on his left hip, murmured like a nervous dog.

'Our destinies are intertwined, Stormbringer,' said Elric. 'Bring us from this place, or those destinies shall never be fulfilled.'

Stormbringer swung round like the needle of a compass and Elric's unfeeling arm was wrenched round to go with it. In eight directions the sword swung, as if to the eight points of Chaos. It was questing – like a hound sniffing a trail. Then a yell sounded from within the strange metal of the blade; a distant cry of delight, it seemed to Elric...

Release date 1984

Details updated August 20, 2021

Rate this book
Choose a shelf for this book

Elric :: Series

Series contains 8 total works.

A series of stories and novels written by Michael Moorcock and featuring or pertaining to Elric of Melniboné beginning in 1961 and continuing on and off for over forty years to the present. During this period Moorcock has filled in gaps within the chronology of the original series as published in Science Fantasy magazine, as well as periodically revising and occasionally retitling both individual stories and books.

Belongs to the series The Eternal Champion Sequence
Related series Elric: The Moonbeam Roads
Related series Elric Saga
Related series Chronicles of the Last Emperor of Melniboné

The Stealer of Souls 8.00   4
The Singing Citadel 8.00   4
The Jade Man's Eyes 9.00   2
Elric at the End of Time 8.50   4
The Fortress of the Pearl 7.80   5
The Revenge of the Rose 7.60   5
Tales of the White Wolf N/A
Elric 8.50   6

Community Reviews & Rates

Blue Six
Blue Six
948 ratings
12 reviews
5 posts
May 8, 2013
Gave 8 / 10 rating to this book
1535 ratings
0 reviews
132 posts
December 22, 2010
Gave 8 / 10 rating to this book
Seregil of Rhiminee
Seregil of Rhiminee
3701 ratings
260 reviews
3594 posts
October 8, 2007
Gave 8 / 10 rating to this book