Dreamsnake - Vonda N. McIntyre7.16

Nebula Award 1978, Hugo Award 1979, Locus Award 1979.

In a world devastated by nuclear holocaust, Snake is a healer. One of an elite band dedicated to caring for sick humanity, she goes wherever her skills are needed.

With her she takes the three deadly reptiles through which her cures are accomplished: a cobra, a rattlesnake, and the dreamsnake, a creature whose hallucinogenic venom brings not healing but an easeful death for the terminally ill.

Rare and valuable is this dreamsnake. When Grass is wantonly slain, Snake must journey across perilous landscapes to find another to take its place...

Rate this book

Release date: 1978
Genres: science fiction
Tags: hugo award, locus award, nebula award
Average rating: 7.16/10
Total ratings: 52
Updated: August 19, 2021
Other books by Vonda N. McIntyre
The Exile Waiting
Fireflood and Other Stories
The Entropy Effect (Star Trek: The Original Series (numbered novels) #2)
The Wrath of Khan (Star Trek: The Original Series (numbered novels) #7)
Star Trek III: The Search for Spock (Star Trek: The Original Series (numbered novels) #17)
The Bride
Enterprise: The First Adventure
The Voyage Home
Transition (Starfarers #2)
Metaphase (Starfarers #3)
Nautilus (Starfarers #4)
The Crystal Star5.52
The Moon and the Sun6.30
Duty, Honor, Redemption
Outcasts: Three Stories