The Scroll of Kings

by Sarah Prineas
Release date: June 25, 2018
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasy, young adult

From Sarah Prineas, the author of the acclaimed Magic Thief series, comes a stunning new tween fantasy series where books literally come to life! The powerful Lost Books are infecting the rest with an evil magic, and one boy must save not only the books but the entire kingdom. Prineas returns to her classic middle grade roots with this imaginative, fast-paced adventure for book lovers everywhere.

One strange morning, Alex finds the current librarian dead, and soon after, the book his mentor was reading attacks him! Something dark is afoot. But Alex’s plans to get to the bottom of things are foiled when the duchess refuses to keep him. Just as they’re kicking him out, Alex finds a letter from the queen asking his now dead master to become the new royal librarian... and knows this is his chance.

Alex arrives at the palace library only to discover that now all books have come to life. And the powerful, and thought to be destroyed, Lost Books are infecting the rest with an evil magic. As the infected weather books attack with lightning bolts, the sword-fighting books brandish steel, and the books about explosives... well, you know. Alex must find out who has awoken the books and wants to send their readers to their doom. If Alex can stop them, he can find a way to save not only the new young queen but the entire kingdom. A job fit only for a librarian.

updated 2018-06-25

Other books you might like

Rogue Wave (Waterfire Saga, #2)The Unknown Spy (The Ring of Five, #2)Warrior (Dragons of Starlight, #2)The House of Months and YearsThe Becoming of Noah Shaw (The Shaw Confessions, #1)
Online 52 visitors
Newest member: Madalyn Twichell
Total members: 5712