The Maker of Moons

by Robert W. Chambers
Release date: 1896 (G. P. Putnam's Sons)
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasydark fantasy, horrorweird fiction, short stories

The Maker of Moons is an 1896 short story collection by Robert W. Chambers which followed the publication of Chambers' most famous work, The King in Yellow (1895). It contains eight new stories, including the title story "The Maker of Moons", one of his finest weird tales, and several romantic Art Nouveau stories, concluding with two less distinguished weird tales. The latter were subsequently incorporated into the episodic novel In Search of the Unknown. The first three stories are linked by the theme of a dream wife who is named Ysonde, and they form a triptych. The weird nature of the first story has interesting echoes in the other two, which feature picturesque animal figures, such as a Red Ibis and a disagreeable porcupine. The story "In The Name of the Most High" is a war story set in the American Civil War. The next two stories are humorous romantic tales with a fishing theme and setting. Chambers' love of natural scenery illuminates most of the stories.


The Maker of Moons
The Silent Land
The Black Water
In the Name of the Most High
Boy's Sister
The Crime
A Pleasant Evening
The Man At The Next Table

updated 2018-08-19

Other books you might like

An Emporium of AutomataThe Return of Count Electric and Other StoriesEverland and Other StoriesDead Voices (Small Spaces, #2)Darkness, Mist & Shadow - The Collected Macabre Tales of Basil Copper: Volume 1
Online 30 visitors
Newest member: Krisha Patel
Total members: 6164