The Red-Stained Wings

by Elizabeth Bear
The Red-Stained Wings (The Lotus Kingdoms #2) by Elizabeth Bear 7.76   4

Hugo Award–winning author Elizabeth Bear returns the epic fantasy world of the Lotus Kingdoms with The Red-Stained Wings, the sequel to The Stone in the Skull, taking the Gage into desertlands under a deadly sky to answer the riddle of the Stone in the Skull.

The Gage and the Dead Man brought a message from the greatest wizard of Messaline to the ruling queen of Sarathai, one of the Lotus Kingdoms. But the message was a riddle, and the Lotus Kingdoms are at war.

Elizabeth Bear created her secondary world of the Eternal Sky in her highly praised novel The Range of Ghosts and its sequels. She continued it the first book of the Lotus Kingdoms, The Stone in the Skull.

Also known as The Stone in the Skull Book 2.

Rate this book
Choose a shelf for this book

The Red-Stained Wings related topics

No topics yet related to this book.
New Topic / Report Missing Details (guest post allowed)

Release date May 27, 2019
Details updated May 27, 2019

The Lotus Kingdoms

Series contains 3 primary works and has 3 total works.

Elizabeth Bear expands the world of her Eternal Sky trilogy beyond the Steles of the Sky into the southern Lotus Kingdoms. The Gage is an automaton built around a human heart, created by a long-dead Wizard of Messaline. His purpose now is to carry a message to the Rajni of one of those Lotus Kingdoms. With him travels a Dead Man, once the bodyguard of the ruler of the Uthman Caliphate, now fallen. The Dead Man is now a nameless mercenary. But the Lotus Kingdoms are soon to be at war with each other, and Wizardly messages are seldom what they seem to be on the surface.

Main series The Eternal Sky

The Stone in the Skull (The Lotus Kingdoms #1) 10.00   1
The Red-Stained Wings (The Lotus Kingdoms #2) 7.76   4
The Origin of Storms (The Lotus Kingdoms #3) 8.50   6