The Rambling

by Jimmy Cajoleas
Release date: March 26, 2019
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasy, young adult

From the author of Goldeline, a Booklist Top 10 First Novels for Youth pick, comes a mesmerizing middle grade fantasy about family and the power of storytelling. Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon and The Thickety.

Buddy Pennington is headed to river country, hoping his luck might change. He’ll be better off with his daddy, a wandering soul and a local legend for his skills at Parsnit, a mysterious card game of magic, chance, and storytelling. But no sooner are Buddy and his pop reunited than some of Pop’s old enemies arrive to take him away. Boss Authority, the magical crime lord who has held the rivers in his grasp for years, is ready to collect on an old debt Buddy’s father owes.

Now Buddy must set out on a dangerous rescue mission, learning to play Parsnit with the best of them as he goes. Because the stars are aligning for one last epic duel — one that will require a sticky-fingered ally, a lucky twist of fate, and the hand of a lifetime. And in this game, you’re only as strong as the story you tell.

(updated 2019-03-26)

Other books you might like

Ember and the Ice DragonsA Clawed and Feathered SpellThe Queen of Dreams (The Queen of Dreams, #1)Fairy Luck (Songs of Magic, #6)Secrets of the Dragon Sanctuary (Fablehaven, #4)
Online 1 member and 38 visitors
Freyja
Newest member: Rebecca Watson
Total members: 5233