The Spinner of Dream

by K. A. Reynolds
Release date: August 26, 2019
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasy, young adult

Fans of Kelly Barnhill and Claire Legrand will devour this second poignant middle grade fantasy from K. A. Reynolds, set in an imaginative world reminiscent of Neil Gaiman’s novels.

Annalise Meriwether — though kind, smart, and curious — is terribly lonely.

Cursed at birth by the devious Fate Spinner, Annalise has always lived a solitary life with her loving parents. She does her best to ignore the cruel folk of her desolate town—but the black mark on her hand won’t be ignored. Not when the monster living within it, which seems to have an agenda of its own, grows more unpredictable each day.

There’s only one way for Annalise to rid herself of her curse: to enter the Labyrinth of Fate and Dreams and defeat the Fate Spinner. So despite her anxiety, Annalise sets out to undo the curse that’s defined her — and to show the world, and herself, exactly who she is inside.

Inventive, empathetic, and strange in all the best ways, The Spinner of Dreams draws from the author’s own experiences to create a story that feels timeless and universal. As she did in her debut, The Land of Yesterday, K. A. Reynolds thoughtfully explores mental health and crafts an adventure that fits right alongside middle grade classics like The Phantom Tollbooth.

 

 

updated 2019-08-26

Other books you might like

Captive: A Guard's Tale from Malachi's PerspectiveThe Emperor of Nihon-Ja (Ranger's Apprentice, #10)A Royal Guide to Monster Slaying (A Royal Guide to Monster Slaying, #1)Mortal Coil (Skulduggery Pleasant, #5)Unlocking the Spell (The Wide-Awake Princess, #2)
Online 33 visitors
Newest member: Maryam Musayeva
Total members: 6287