Ink in the Blood

by Kim Smejkal
Release date: February 11, 2020
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasydark fantasy, young adult

Two friends who use tattoo magic to send divine messages must rely on one another to survive when they discover the fake deity they serve is very real — and very angry. This dark and twisty YA is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kendare Blake.

A lush, dark YA fantasy debut that weaves together tattoo magic, faith, and eccentric theater in a world where lies are currency and ink is a weapon, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kendare Blake.

Celia Sand and her best friend, Anya Burtoni, are inklings for the esteemed religion of Profeta. Using magic, they tattoo followers with beautiful images that represent the Divine’s will and guide the actions of the recipients. It’s considered a noble calling, but ten years into their servitude Celia and Anya know the truth: Profeta is built on lies, the tattooed orders strip away freedom, and the revered temple is actually a brutal, torturous prison.

Their opportunity to escape arrives with the Rabble Mob, a traveling theater troupe. Using their inkling abilities for performance instead of propaganda, Celia and Anya are content for the first time... until they realize who followed them. The Divine they never believed in is very real, very angry, and determined to use Celia, Anya, and the Rabble Mob’s now-infamous stage to spread her deceitful influence even further.

To protect their new family from the wrath of a malicious deity and the zealots who work in her name, Celia and Anya must unmask the biggest lie of all — Profeta itself.

(updated 2020-02-11)

Other books you might like

The Merciful Crow (The Merciful Crow, #1)Bedlam (Skulduggery Pleasant, #12)ResidueOnly Ashes Remain (Market of Monsters, #2)Tales of the Peculiar
Online 144 visitors
Newest member: Елена Акимова
Total members: 5284