Sharpe's Tiger (The Sharpe Series #1) - Bernard Cornwell

The prequel to the series, describing Sharpe, s experiences in India. Sharpe’s Tiger describes the adventures of the raw young private soldier Richard Sharpe in India, before the Peninsular War.

Sharpe and the rest of his battalion, along with the rising star of the general staff Arthur Wellesley, are about to embark upon the siege of Seringapatam, island citadel of the Tippoo of Mysore. The British must remove this potentate from his tiger throne, but he has gone to extraordinary lengths to defend his city from attack. And always he is surrounded by tigers, both living and ornamental... any prisoner of the Tippoo can expect a savage end.

When a senior British officer is captured by the Tippoo's forces Sharpe is offered a chance to attempt a rescue, a chance he snatched in order to escape from the tyrannical Sergeant Obadiah Hakeswill. But in fleeing Hakeswill he enters the confusing, exotic and dangerous world of the Tippoo and Sharpe will need all his wits just to stay alive, let alone save the British army from catastrophe.

With the same meticulous research and attention to detail that distinguishes the rest of the bestselling series of Sharpe novels, Bernard Cornwell has recreated the I 799 campaign against Seringapatam which made the British masters of southern India, a campaign that pitted brutalized soldiers against an ancient and splendid civilization. Set against a background of dazzling wealth, ruinous poverty, gorgeous palaces, sudden cruelty and pitiless battles, Sharpe’s Tiger is his greatest adventure yet.

Rate this book

Release date: 1997
Genres: history
Tags: military
Updated: August 18, 2021

The Sharpe Series :: Series

Also known as Richard Sharpe and Sharpe.

The Sharpe Series charts Richard Sharpe's progress in the British Army during the Napoleonic Wars. He begins in Sharpe's Tiger as a Private in the 33rd Regiment of foot, who becomes a Sergeant by the end of the book, and an Ensign in the 74th Regiment who is transferred to the newly formed 95th Rifles as a Second-Lieutenant during Sharpe's Trafalgar. He is gradually promoted through the ranks, finally becoming a Lieutenant Colonel in Sharpe's Waterloo.

The books are listed here in chronological order.

Sharpe's Christmas
Sharpe's Tiger (The Sharpe Series #1)
Sharpe's Triumph (The Sharpe Series #2)
Sharpe's Fortress (The Sharpe Series #3)
Sharpe's Trafalgar (The Sharpe Series #4)
Sharpe's Prey (The Sharpe Series #5)
Sharpe's Rifles (The Sharpe Series #6)
Sharpe's Havoc (The Sharpe Series #7)
Sharpe's Eagle (The Sharpe Series #8)
Sharpe's Gold (The Sharpe Series #9)
Sharpe's Escape (The Sharpe Series #10)
Sharpe's Fury (The Sharpe Series #11)
Sharpe's Battle (The Sharpe Series #12)
Sharpe's Company (The Sharpe Series #13)7.00
Sharpe's Sword (The Sharpe Series #14)
Sharpe's Enemy (The Sharpe Series #15)
Sharpe's Honor (The Sharpe Series #16)
Sharpe's Regiment (The Sharpe Series #17)
Sharpe's Siege (The Sharpe Series #18)
Sharpe's Revenge (The Sharpe Series #19)
Sharpe's Waterloo (The Sharpe Series #20)
Sharpe's Devil (The Sharpe Series #21)
Sharpe’s Assassin (The Sharpe Series #22)7.50