Sharpe's Triumph (The Sharpe Series #2) - Bernard Cornwell

Richard Sharpe and the Battle of Assaye, September 1803

India, 1803. Sergeant Richard Sharpe witnesses a murderous act of treachery by an English officer who has defected from the East India Company to join the mercenary army of the Mahratta Confederation. In the hunt for the renegade Englishman, penetrates deep into the enemy's territory where he faces temptations more subtle than he has ever dreamed of. And behind him, relentlessly stalking him, comes his worst enemy, the baleful, twitching Sergeant Obadiah Hakeswill who is determined to break Sharpe once and for all. The paths of treachery all lead to the small village of Assaye where Sir Arthur Wellesley, with a tiny British army, faces the Mahratta horde.

Outnumbered and outgunned, Wellesley decides to fight, and Sharpe is plunged into the white heat of a battle that will make Wellesley's reputation. It will make Sharpe's name to, but only if he can survive the carnage and killing frenzy, for it is at Assaye that he at last realizes his ambition and has a chance to seize it. This major new novel will follow the adventures of Richard Sharpe in India, begun so excitingly in Sharpe's Tiger and culminating in the Battle of Assaye, which Wellington considered his greatest victory.

Rate this book

Release date: 1998
Genres: history
Tags: military
Updated: August 25, 2021

The Sharpe Series :: Series

Also known as Richard Sharpe and Sharpe.

The Sharpe Series charts Richard Sharpe's progress in the British Army during the Napoleonic Wars. He begins in Sharpe's Tiger as a Private in the 33rd Regiment of foot, who becomes a Sergeant by the end of the book, and an Ensign in the 74th Regiment who is transferred to the newly formed 95th Rifles as a Second-Lieutenant during Sharpe's Trafalgar. He is gradually promoted through the ranks, finally becoming a Lieutenant Colonel in Sharpe's Waterloo.

The books are listed here in chronological order.

Sharpe's Christmas
Sharpe's Tiger (The Sharpe Series #1)
Sharpe's Triumph (The Sharpe Series #2)
Sharpe's Fortress (The Sharpe Series #3)
Sharpe's Trafalgar (The Sharpe Series #4)
Sharpe's Prey (The Sharpe Series #5)
Sharpe's Rifles (The Sharpe Series #6)
Sharpe's Havoc (The Sharpe Series #7)
Sharpe's Eagle (The Sharpe Series #8)
Sharpe's Gold (The Sharpe Series #9)
Sharpe's Escape (The Sharpe Series #10)
Sharpe's Fury (The Sharpe Series #11)
Sharpe's Battle (The Sharpe Series #12)
Sharpe's Company (The Sharpe Series #13)7.00
Sharpe's Sword (The Sharpe Series #14)
Sharpe's Enemy (The Sharpe Series #15)
Sharpe's Honor (The Sharpe Series #16)
Sharpe's Regiment (The Sharpe Series #17)
Sharpe's Siege (The Sharpe Series #18)
Sharpe's Revenge (The Sharpe Series #19)
Sharpe's Waterloo (The Sharpe Series #20)
Sharpe's Devil (The Sharpe Series #21)
Sharpe’s Assassin (The Sharpe Series #22)7.50