Penric's Progress (Penric and Desdemona (omnibus editions) #1) - Lois McMaster Bujold

An omnibus edition of the novellas Penric’s DemonPenric and the Shaman and Penric’s Fox.


Follow Penric on his journey from noble young lord to sorcerer and scholar in the Bastard's Order. Three fantasy novellas by multiple award winning author Lois McMaster Bujold, together for the first time!

Penric’s Demon

On the way to his betrothal young Lord Penric happens upon a riding accident and stops to help. But the victim is no ordinary woman. She is is a Temple divine, servant to the five gods of this world. Her avowed god is The Bastard, "master of all disasters out of season." As she lies dying, she passes her strange powers to Penric...  and changes the course of his life forever.

Penric and the Shaman

Now a divine of the Bastard’s Order as well as a sorcerer and scholar, Penric finds his scholarly work interrupted when he is called upon to accompany a "Locator" of the Father’s Order, assigned to capture Inglis, a runaway shaman charged with the murder of his best friend. But Penric finds that the mission is anything but easy and that his new skills will be pushed to the breaking point.

Penric’s Fox

When Penric — sorcerer, scholar, and divine in the Bastard's Order — travels to Easthome, the capital of the Weald, he once again finds himself embroiled in a mystery. The body of a sorceress has been found in the woods, and it is up to Penric and his friends, Shaman Inglis and Locator Oswyl, to unravel a mystery mixing magic, murder, and the strange realities of Temple demons.

Rate this book

Release date: January 7, 2020
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy, collection
Average rating: 8.00/10
Total ratings: 1
Updated: September 21, 2021