Ash: A Secret History
Avg rating 4.25
4.25 stars
Give rating

Ratings (4)

Ash: A Secret History

by Mary Gentle
Release date: 2000
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: science fiction, fantasy, alternate history
Tags: bsfa award

Published in four volumes in the US: The Book of Ash #1: A Secret History (1999), #2: Carthage Ascendant (2000), #3: The Wild Machines (2000) and #4: Lost Burgundy (2000).

British Science Fiction Association Award 2001, Arthur C. Clarke Award nominee 2001.

In the mid-fifteenth century there was Burgundy, the jewel of Europe-opulent and powerful, the undisputed center of an uncivilized world.

In an epoch of war and madness there was Ash. A girl born in mud and dung, she slew her first men while only eight. Scarred and ravaged, but still beautiful, she rose up to lead a great mercenary army before the age of twenty - and followed a sacred voice wise in the bloody ways of battle to a pinnacle unattainable to even the most potent of legends.

In a time when empires and alliances shifted like sand - when Mithras the bull was worshipped freely alongside the Christ - a great cloud arose out of Africa to darken the sun. The Visigoths came with their terrible machines - powered by magic or a science unknown to this day - and aimed their irresistible might toward the rich Burgundian prize, wrenching the wheel of civilization in an unknown and unexpected direction. And with their coming, one incomparable warrior raised on Destiny's ash heap became more that anyone thought one woman could ever be...

updated 2017-01-16

Other books you might like

The Best of H. P. Lovecraft: Bloodcurdling Tales of Horror and the MacabreThe Doom That Came to Sarnath and Other StoriesThe Call of Cthulhu and Other Weird StoriesThe Thing on the Doorstep and Other Weird StoriesDagon and Other Macabre Tales
Online 36 visitors
Newest member: Peter Malthus
Total members: 6472