The Dark Tide (The Dark Tide, #1)
Expectation rating 3.50
3.50 stars
My expectation
star1
star2
star3
star4
star5
star6
star7
star8
star9
star10


Ratings (1)

The Dark Tide

by Alicia Jasinska
Release date: June 2, 2020
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasy, young adult

A fast-paced, well-plotted fantasy retelling of an ancient Scottish fairy tale ballad, this exciting debut will appeal to fans of Stephanie Garber's CARAVAL, Shea Ernshaw's THE WICKED DEEP, and Kendare Blake's THREE DARK CROWNS.

Every year on Walpurgis Night, Caldella's Witch Queen lures a young boy back to her palace. An innocent life to be sacrificed on the full moon to keep the island city from sinking.

Convinced her handsome brother is going to be taken, sixteen-year-old Lina Kirk enlists the help of the mysterious Tomas Lin, her secret crush, and the only boy to ever escape from the palace. Working together they protect her brother, but draw the Queen's attention. When the Queen spirits Tomas away instead, Lina blames herself and determines to go after him.

Caught breaking into the palace, the Queen offers Lina a deal: she will let Tomas go, if, of course, Lina agrees to take his place. Lina accepts, with a month before the full moon, surely she can find some way to escape. But the Queen is nothing like she envisioned, and Lina is not at all what the Queen expected. Against their will, they find themselves falling for each other. As water floods Caldella's streets and the dark tide demands its sacrifice, they must choose who to save: themselves, each other, or the island city relying on them both.

updated 2020-05-17

Other books you might like

Milayna's Angel (Milayna, #2)Red HoodHanging by a ThreadFlock (Stork, #3)The Box and the Dragonfly (The Keepers, #1)
Online 1 member and 37 visitors
Dimitar Nicolov
Newest member: Ambika Gibikote - Tadipatri
Total members: 5718