The Girl in the Garden: Year One

Sapphira Olson
science fiction, mainstream
The Girl in the Garden: Year One (Origins #1) - Sapphira Olson

A poetry book.

'I stop for a moment. You see, I am crying. I cry all the time. It’s the nature of things, you see.'

THE GIRL IN THE GARDEN is a collection of 30 poems from STANLEY PARK author Sapphira Olson themed around being transgender. Semi-autobiographical and infused with Celtic myths and legends including the birds of Rhiannon, the god Lug and Niamh, the golden-headed daughter of the King of the Land of Youth, the poems give a profound and personal insight into the world of a trans woman.

When Sapphira happens upon the girl in the garden it is a start of her world been radically transformed as she finds a paradise with a great oak at its centre, where the girl lives. Dealing with themes of emotional, spiritual and physical transition, abuse, coming out to family and misgendering the poems leave a lasting and profound impression. Providing inspiration and hope to those that are transgender and an insight for those who are interested in knowing more about what it is like to be transgender, the collection is a glimpse into this world that is unique and life changing.

Illustrated throughout by the author herself, in beautiful black inks, THE GIRL IN THE GARDEN (YEAR ONE) is book one in the ORIGINS series, with YEAR TWO planned for 2021.

Rate this book

Release date: March 2020
Genres: science fiction, mainstream
Expectation rating: 8.00/10
Total ratings: 1
Updated: September 25, 2021

Origins :: Series

The Girl in the Garden: Year One (Origins #1)