The Best of Michael Marshall Smith

Michael Marshall Smith
science fiction, fantasy, horror, short stories
The Best of Michael Marshall Smith - Michael Marshall Smith7.34

Dust jacket illustration by Stefan Koidl. Interior story heading illustrations by Les Edwards.

In 1990, British-born author Michael Marshall Smith burst on to the literary scene with his first story “The Man Who Drew Cats.” It won the prestigious British Fantasy Award for Best Short Fiction, and he went on to win the award again the next year. In a career that has now spanned three decades he has written nearly 100 short stories, published more than a dozen best-selling novels around the world, and scripted numerous movie and television projects.

Now, to celebrate his three decades as a writer, The Best of Michael Marshall Smith brings together thirty of his most emotive and powerful stories (including all his award-winning short fiction), along with extensive story notes by the author.

Featuring evocative heading illustrations by Les Edwards, this career-spanning collection includes such memorable tales as “Hell Hath Enlarged Itself,” “More Tomorrow,” “To Receive is Better,” “What You Make It,” “Later,” “The Dark Land,” “What Happens When You Wake Up in the Night,”  “Always,” and many others, in their definitive versions.

By turns touching, disturbing, and frightening, these stories are not limited by theme or genre, but reveal a writer always in command, and whose imagination knows no bounds. The Best of Michael Marshall Smith is the ultimate compilation of the author’s work, and stands as a testament to his mastery of, and commitment to, his craft.


  • The Handover
  • Save As
  • Being Right
  • Hell Hath Enlarged Herself
  • More Tomorrow
  • The Motel Business
  • Dear Alison
  • The Man Who Drew Cats
  • This is Now
  • To Receive is Better
  • They Also Serve
  • The Scariest Thing in the World
  • The Seventeenth Kind
  • What You Make It
  • Not Waving
  • Later
  • Walking Wounded
  • The Gist
  • Author of the Death
  • The Dark Land
  • Different Now
  • The Things He Said
  • The Window of Erich Zann
  • Everything You Need
  • What Happens When You Wake Up in the Night
  • Failure
  • Charms
  • The Burning Woods
  • Shit Happens
  • Always
  • Story Notes

The Bonus of Michael Marshall Smith
(volume accompanies the limited and lettered editions)

  • REMtemps™
  • One One Three
  • Look Inside
  • The Chain
  • Story Notes
Rate this book

Release date: December 31, 2020
Genres: science fiction, fantasy, horror, short stories
Expectation rating: 7.34/10
Total ratings: 3
Updated: May 20, 2022
Other books by Michael Marshall Smith
Only Forward
One of Us
When God Lived in Kentish Town & Others
The Vaccinator
What You Make It
Binary 2
Cat Stories
More Tomorrow & Other Stories
The Servants
Everything You Need
Hannah Green and Her Unfeasibly Mundane Existence