The Origin of Storms

by Elizabeth Bear
The Origin of Storms (The Lotus Kingdoms #3) - Elizabeth Bear 8.50   6

Hugo Award-winning author Elizabeth Bear returns with the stunning conclusion to her acclaimed epic fantasy trilogy, the Lotus Kingdoms.

The Lotus Kingdoms are at war, with four claimants to the sorcerous throne of the Alchemical Emperor, fielding three armies between them. Alliances are made, and broken, many times over—but in the end, only one can sit on the throne. And that one must have not only the power, but the rightful claim.

The Rajni Mrithuri stands as the chief claimant to the Alchemical throne now, but she and her empire remain a prize to be taken unless she gets an heir. She has her allies--her cousin Sayeh, a dragon, a foreign wizard, a fearsome automaton, and the Dead Man--but the throne has the final say. And if it rejects her, the price is death.

Rate this book
Choose a shelf for this book

Release date June 28, 2022 (Tor Books)
Details updated November 15, 2022

The Lotus Kingdoms :: Series

Series contains 3 primary works and has 3 total works.

Elizabeth Bear expands the world of her Eternal Sky trilogy beyond the Steles of the Sky into the southern Lotus Kingdoms. The Gage is an automaton built around a human heart, created by a long-dead Wizard of Messaline. His purpose now is to carry a message to the Rajni of one of those Lotus Kingdoms. With him travels a Dead Man, once the bodyguard of the ruler of the Uthman Caliphate, now fallen. The Dead Man is now a nameless mercenary. But the Lotus Kingdoms are soon to be at war with each other, and Wizardly messages are seldom what they seem to be on the surface.

Main series The Eternal Sky

The Stone in the Skull (The Lotus Kingdoms #1) 10.00   1
The Red-Stained Wings (The Lotus Kingdoms #2) 7.76   4
The Origin of Storms (The Lotus Kingdoms #3) 8.50   6