Leviathan Falls (The Expanse #9) - James S. A. Corey8.58

The final novel in The Expanse series.

Set in the distant future in an inhabited solar system split between three major factions (Earth, Mars, and the Asteroid Belt / Outer planets), Leviathan Wakes follows the crew of an ice hauler — captain James Holden, XO Naomi Nagata, pilot Alex Kamal, and engineer Amos Burton — after they encounter a ship in distress. A private company unleashes an alien substance known as the Protomolecule, plunging the system’s various factions into a major conflict as they vie for power.

The substance is essentially a technology that can replicate itself and manipulate matter, and it eventually links our solar system to a vast network of other gates and habitable planets, allowing humanity to expand into the galaxy. In the latest pair of novels, Abraham and Franck jump decades into the future, where a lost Martian task force returns — having used the Protomolecule to create some advanced technologies and set up a fascist civilization — and are bent on creating an interstellar empire.

Rate this book

Release date: November 30, 2021
Genres: science fictionspace opera
Expectation rating: 8.58/10
Total ratings: 7
Updated: November 30, 2021

The Expanse :: Series

Leviathan Wakes (The Expanse #1)8.26
Caliban's War (The Expanse #2)7.72
Abaddon's Gate (The Expanse #3)8.60
Cibola Burn (The Expanse #4)8.00
Nemesis Games (The Expanse #5)8.26
Babylon's Ashes (The Expanse #6)
Persepolis Rising (The Expanse #7)9.00
Tiamat's Wrath (The Expanse #8)8.28
Leviathan Falls (The Expanse #9)8.58
Memory's Legion (The Expanse #10)8.20