The Marvelous Magic of Miss Mabel

Natasha Lowe
fantasy, childrens
The Marvelous Magic of Miss Mabel (Poppy Pendle #3) - Natasha Lowe

“Wild fantasy, sly satire, and sharply observed family dynamics are the hallmarks of this tasty, effervescent series (along with mouthwatering recipes); this volume’s the most delectable yet.” — Kirkus Reviews

“Mabel’s hijinks will appeal to readers of Roald Dahl’s Matilda and Diana Wynne Jones’s Howl’s Moving Castle... Mabel will inspire readers with her confident creativity; a solid secondary purchase, especially where Lowe’s previous title is popular.” — School Library Journal

“This lovely celebration of quirky individualism applauds both creativity and science.” — Booklist

Penderwicks meets Edward Eager in this charming coming of age tale about a young witch found in a flowerpot who’s on a journey to discover her roots.

The morning Nora Ratcliff finds a baby in the flowerpot on her front steps her life changes forever. She had always wanted a child, but after her husband passed away, Nora never thought she would have one, but her flowerpot child was a miracle and she decided to name her Mabel. As Mabel grew up, she showed a distinct talent for magic.

When Mabel is accepted to the prestigious witch school, Ruthersfield Academy, she excels at the magic curriculum but is constantly in trouble for experimenting and inventing her own potions. One day she is asked to write a paper on her magical roots and discovers the truth about her birth after a mean classmate blurts out what everyone seems to know except Mabel. Mabel is shocked but the revelation does explain a lot. In rebellion, Mabel changes her name to Magnolia and tries to understand why she was left in the flowerpot and who her birth family might be.

Will Mabel find the answers she’s looking for — or will she discover that families are people who love each other and look after each other and that’s most important of all.

Rate this book

Release date: August 2016
Genres: fantasy, childrens
Updated: August 21, 2021

Poppy Pendle :: Series

The Power of Poppy Pendle (Poppy Pendle #1)
The Courage of Cat Campbell (Poppy Pendle #2)
The Marvelous Magic of Miss Mabel (Poppy Pendle #3)
The Daring of Della Dupree (Poppy Pendle #4)