Boundaries - Mercedes Lackey

Edited by Mercedes Lackey.

This fifteenth anthology of short stories set in the beloved Valdemar universe features tales by debut and established authors and a brand-new story from Lackey herself.

The Heralds of Valdemar are the kingdom's ancient order of protectors. They are drawn from all across the land, from all walks of life, and at all ages - and all are Gifted with abilities beyond those of normal men and women. They are Mindspeakers, FarSeers, Empaths, ForeSeers, Firestarters, FarSpeakers, and more. These inborn talents - combined with training as emissaries, spies, judges, diplomats, scouts, counselors, warriors, and more - make them indispensable to their monarch and realm. Sought and Chosen by mysterious horse-like Companions, they are bonded for life to these telepathic, enigmatic creatures. The Heralds of Valdemar and their Companions ride circuit throughout the kingdom, protecting the peace and, when necessary, defending their land and monarch.

Give expectation rate

Release date: December 7, 2021
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy, anthology
Expectation rating: 8.00/10
Total ratings: 1
Updated: November 11, 2021

Valdemar :: Series

Related series Darian's Tale
Related series The Heralds of Valdemar
Related series The Heralds of Valdemar Prequels
Related series Kerowyn's Tale
Related series The Last Herald-Mage
Related series The Mage Storms
Related series The Mage Wars
Related series The Mage Winds
Related series Vows and Honor
Related series The Collegium Chronicles
Related series The Herald Spy
Related series Valdemar: Family Spies
Related series The Founding of Valdemar

Sword of Ice and Other Tales of Valdemar
The Valdemar Companion
Sun in Glory and Other Tales of Valdemar
Crossroads and Other Tales of Valdemar
Moving Targets and Other Tales of Valdemar
Changing the World: All-New Tales of Valdemar
Finding the Way and Other Tales of Valdemar
Under the Vale and Other Tales of Valdemar
No True Way: All New Tales of Valdemar
Crucible: All-New Tales of Valdemar
Tempest: All-New Tales of Valdemar
The Demon's Den and Other Tales of Valdemar
Seasons: All-New Tales of Valdemar