Heart of the Impaler

Alexander Delacroix
fantasy > historical fantasy, history, young adult
Heart of the Impaler - Alexander Delacroix

Alexander Delacroix's darkly romantic debut Heart of the Impaler is perfect for fans of Kiersten White's And I Darken and Emily A. Duncan's Wicked Saints.

Vlad Dracul has long lived in the shadows cast by his bloodthirsty father, the voivode, and his older brother, Mircea. Despite their cruelty, Vlad has yearned to prove himself worthy of the throne his whole life. In the cold halls of the voivode's palace, Vlad can only rely on his cousin and closest friend, Andrei Musat.

When Vlad and Andrei meet Ilona Csáki, the daughter of an influential boyar, they each find themselves inextricably drawn to her. But then Ilona is betrothed to Mircea as part of a political alliance, and Vlad's resentfulness of his brother begins to seethe into something far darker.

Ilona has no desire to marry the voivode’s eldest son, but love and marriage are the least of her worries. The royal family’s enemies have already tried to put an arrow through her back ― and if anyone discovers her blossoming feelings for her betrothed’s cousin Andrei and younger brother, Vlad, she may just wish they’d succeeded.

Beneath the shadow of impending war, the only battle that will be deadlier than the one for Ilona’s life will be the one for her heart.

Give expectation rate


Release date: December 7, 2021
Genres: fantasyhistorical fantasy, history, young adult
Expectation rating: 8.00/10
Total ratings: 1
Updated: September 25, 2021