Nightwatch on the Hinterlands

by K. Eason
Nightwatch on the Hinterlands (The Weep Series #1) - K. Eason 7.50   2

Set in the universe of Rory Thorne, this new standalone sci-fi mystery follows an unlikely duo who must discover the motive behind an unusual murder.

THE TEMPLAR: When Lieutenant Iari hears screams in the night, she expects to interrupt a robbery or break up a fight. Instead she discovers a murder with an impossible suspect: a riev, one of the battle-mecha decommissioned after the end of the last conflict, repurposed for manual labor. Riev don't kill people. And yet, clearly, one has. Iari sets out to find it.

THE SPY: Officially, Gaer is an ambassador from the vakari. Unofficially, he's also a spy, sending information back to his government, unfiltered by diplomatic channels. Unlike Iari, Gaer isn't so sure the riev's behavior is just a malfunction, since the riev were created using an unstable mixture of alchemy and arithmancy.

As Gaer and Iari search for the truth, they discover that the murderous riev is just a weapon in the hands of a wielder with wider ambitions than homicide - including releasing horrors not seen since the war, that make a rampaging riev seem insignificant...

Rate this book
Choose a shelf for this book

Nightwatch on the Hinterlands related topics

No topics yet related to this book.
Create a new topic (guest post allowed)

Release date October 19, 2021
Details updated January 7, 2023

The Weep Series :: Series

Series contains 3 primary works and has 3 total works.

Main series The Thorne Chronicles

Nightwatch on the Hinterlands (The Weep Series #1) 7.50   2
Nightwatch Over Windscar (The Weep Series #2) N/A