Jack Four (Polity Universe #21) - Neal Asher 6.00   1

This high-octane adventure is set in the same world as Neal Asher's acclaimed Polity universe. It's a thrilling, fast-paced standalone novel, perfect for fans of Alastair Reynolds and Stephen Baxter.

Created to die – determined to live . . .

Jack Four – one of twenty human clones – has been created to be sold. His purchasers are the alien prador and they only want him for their experimentation program. But there is something different about Jack. No clone should possess the knowledge that’s been loaded into his mind. And no normal citizen of humanity’s Polity worlds would have this information.

The prador’s king has been mutated by the Spatterjay virus into a creature even more monstrous than the prador themselves. And his children, the King’s Guard, have undergone similar changes. They were infected by the virus during the last humans-versus-prador war, now lapsed into an uneasy truce. But the prador are always looking for new weapons – and their experimentation program might give them the edge they seek.

Suzeal trades human slaves out of the Stratogaster Space Station, re-engineering them to serve the prador. She thinks the rewards are worth the risks, but all that is about to change. The Station was once a zoo, containing monsters from across known space. All the monsters now dwell on the planet below, but they aren’t as contained as they seem. And a vengeful clone may be the worst danger of all.

Category: Science Fiction

Release date June 10, 2021 (Tor Books)

Details updated July 26, 2022

Rate this book
Choose a shelf for this book

Polity Universe :: Series

Series contains 1 primary works and has 2 total works.

Related series Ian Cormac Series
Related series Spatterjay Series
Related series The Polity Series
Related series Transformation
Related series Rise of the Jain

Jack Four (Polity Universe #21) 6.00   1
Lockdown Tales N/A

Community Reviews & Rates

Blue Six
Blue Six
948 ratings
12 reviews
5 posts
June 5, 2022
6 / 10
Gave rating to this book