Into the Narrowdark (The Last King of Osten Ard #3) - Tad Williams N/A


The New York Times bestselling world of Osten Ard returns in the third Last King of Osten Ard novel, as threats to the kingdom loom...

The High Throne of Erkynland is tottering, its royal family divided and diminished. Queen Miriamele has been caught up in a brutal rebellion in the south and thought to have died in a fiery attack. Her grandson Morgan, heir to the throne, has been captured by one of Utuk’ku’s soldiers in the ruins of an abandoned city. Miriamele’s husband, King Simon, is overwhelmed by grief and hopelessness, unaware that many of these terrible things have been caused by Pasevalles, a murderous traitor inside Simon’s own court at the Hayholt.

Meanwhile, a deadly army of Norns led by the ageless, vengeful Queen Utuk’ku, has swept into Erkynland and thrown down the fortress of Naglimund, slaughtering the inhabitants and digging up the ancient grave of Ruyan the Navigator. Utuk’ku plans to use the Navigator’s fabled armor to call up the spirit of Hakatri, the evil Storm King’s brother.

Even the Sithi, fairy-kin to the Norns, are helpless to stop Utuk’ku’s triumph as her armies simultaneously march on the Hayholt and force their way into the forbidden, ogre-guarded valley of Tanakirú—the Narrowdark—where a secret waits that might bring Simon’s people and their Sithi allies salvation—or doom.

Rate this book
Choose a shelf for this book

Release date July 12, 2022
Details updated September 23, 2022

The Last King of Osten Ard :: Series

Series contains 4 primary works and has 4 total works.

The Last King of Osten Ard returns readers to the iconic world of Tad Williams’s New York Times-bestselling Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn trilogy, as characters both beloved and new defend the kingdom from an ancient and powerful enemy.

Main series Osten Ard

The Witchwood Crown (The Last King of Osten Ard #1) 9.00   1
Empire of Grass (The Last King of Osten Ard #2) 8.30   10
Into the Narrowdark (The Last King of Osten Ard #3) N/A