Tigana - Guy Gavriel Kay8.06

World Fantasy Award nominee 1991, Mythopoeic Fantasy Award nominee 1991, Locus Award nominee 1991.

One by one, the divided provinces of The Peninsula of the Palm had fallen, conquered by the armies and the sorcery of the two Tyrants.

Now, Alberico of Barbadior holds the provinces of the Eastern Palm while Brandin of Ygrath rules the West, and normality, of a sort, has returned to the peninsula. But for one province there can be no peace. For there is one land that dared to spill the blood of Brandin's beloved son. A land that has been broken and burned, its towers razed and its people crushed, and through the dark magics of the Tyrant of Ygrath, had its very name erased from the world.

It falls to a small band of exiles from this shattered land to attempt to achieve what nine provinces could not, and bring down not one, but two, tyrants. Driven by fierce pride, love, and the memory of what was, this brave handful of men and women will risk all that they have to return freedom to the Palm, and to hear once more the music of a forgotten name: Tigana.

Rate this book

Release date: 1990
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy
Average rating: 8.06/10
Total ratings: 182
Updated: August 22, 2021


10/10 |
October 02, 2007
Guy Gavriel Kay's Tigana is definitely one of the best fantasy books ever written. Tigana is a real treat for every fantasy lover. I read this book a couple of years ago and I instantly liked it. The story was fascinating and well written. If ...