The Towers of the Sunset (Saga of Recluce #2) - L. E. Modesitt, Jr.7.50

L. E. Modesitt, Jr.'s The Magic of Recluce took the fantasy field by storm. "An intriguing fantasy in a fascinating world, with characters who catch you up. Modesitt presents an interesting study of Chaos versus Order, Good versus Evil... and the attractions each of them has for all of us," said Robert Jordan, best-selling author of The Dragon Reborn. Library Journal praised its "new look at magic." Andre Norton said "This is a refreshing use of the traditional fantasy elements." Amazing praised the "original and interesting twists" and said, "...the universe he's built is fascinating. I hope he visits Recluce, Candar and their neighbors again in the future."

Towers of the Sunset returns to Recluce to tell the tale of the founding of the island kingdom, and of the heroic life of its founder, the powerful weather-magician Creslin. Son of the powerful military matriarch of Westwind in the northern mountains, he chooses exile rather than an arranged marriage and sets out on a search for his true identity as a man, developing his magical talents through constant conflict with the enigmatic white wizards of Candar. Creslin, unknowing, stands in the way of their subtle plot to subjugate the world.

Filled with magical conflict, physical danger, mystery and love, mastery and triumph, Creslin's tale is a worthy equal to The Magic of Recluce.

"This is a writer who cares about his characters and his world. This is disciplined fantasy, not fluff. L. E. Modesitt, Jr. is uncompromising when it comes to the effects of magic, both on the natural world and of the human heart. There are no cheap solutions to the problems of Recluce. Because of that, it is a world worth returning to."
– Megan Lindholm

Rate this book

Release date: 1992
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy
Average rating: 7.50/10
Total ratings: 4
Updated: August 14, 2021

Saga of Recluce :: Series

L.E. Modesitt, Jr.’s bestselling fantasy novels set in the magical world of Recluce are among the most popular in contemporary fantasy. Each novel tells an independent story that nevertheless reverberates though all the other Recluce novels to deepen and enrich the reading experience. As Publishers Weekly says, “Modesitt creates a complex world based on a plausible system of magic and peopled with engaging and realistic characters.” Rich in detail, the Recluce books are a feast of wondrous marvels.

Recluce Tales: Stories from the World of Recluce
The Magic of Recluce (Saga of Recluce #1)9.00
The Towers of the Sunset (Saga of Recluce #2)7.50
The Magic Engineer (Saga of Recluce #3)8.66
The Order War (Saga of Recluce #4)8.00
The Death of Chaos (Saga of Recluce #5)8.00
Fall of Angels (Saga of Recluce #6)7.34
The Chaos Balance (Saga of Recluce #7)8.00
The White Order (Saga of Recluce #8)7.34
Colors of Chaos (Saga of Recluce #9)6.66
Magi'i of Cyador (Saga of Recluce #10)6.66
Scion of Cyador (Saga of Recluce #11)
Wellspring of Chaos (Saga of Recluce #12)
Ordermaster (Saga of Recluce #13)8.66
Natural Ordermage (Saga of Recluce #14)8.00
Mage-Guard of Hamor (Saga of Recluce #15)
Arms-Commander (Saga of Recluce #16)
Cyador's Heirs (Saga of Recluce #17)
Heritage of Cyador (Saga of Recluce #18)
The Mongrel Mage (Saga of Recluce #19)
Outcasts of Order (Saga of Recluce #20)
The Mage-Fire War (Saga of Recluce #21)8.20
Fairhaven Rising (Saga of Recluce #22)