The White Order (Saga of Recluce, #8)
Avg rating 3.67
3.67 stars
Give rating

Ratings (3)

The White Order

by L. E. Modesitt, Jr.
Release date: 1998
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy

L. E. Modesitt's bestselling fantasy novels set in the world of Recluce are among the most popular in contemporary fantasy. Rich in detail, Modesitt's Recluce books are a feast of wonderous marvels. Booklist notes, "Modesitt's elaborate and intelligent working out of a system of magic and a system of technology parallel to it is becoming more the lifeblood of the Recluce books with every new volume... his saga continues to gain in popularity."

The White Order is the story of Cerryl, a boy orphaned when the powerful white mages killed his father to protect their control of the world's magic. Cerryl, raised by his aunt and uncle, is a curious boy, attracted to mirrors and books, though he is unable to read. When he is old enough, Cerryl is apprenticed to the local miller. The miller's daughter teaches Cerryl to read his father's books, and it seems that the talent for magic has been passed from father to son. When Cerryl witnesses a white mage destroy a renegade magician, the miller realizes the boy will not be safe there, so Cerryl must be sent to the city of Fairhaven to find his destiny.

Thus Modesitt takes one of the most enduring and mythic themes in fantasy and makes it his own. The White Order is a powerful new addition to the Recluce saga, guaranteed to add many new readers to Modesitt's devoted following.

The White Order is the eighth book in the saga of Recluce.

(updated 2015-01-27)

Other books you might like

The Broken Kingdoms (The Inheritance Trilogy, #2)The Last Page (The Last Page, #1)The Last Guardian (The Dragon's Blade, #3)Burn Me Deadly (Eddie LaCrosse, #2)Lost Covenant (Widdershins Adventures, #3)
Online 45 visitors
Newest member: Jamie Hollensbe
Total members: 5156