Diamond Dogs
Avg rating 4.00
4.00 stars
Give rating

Ratings (2)

Diamond Dogs

by Alastair Reynolds
Release date: 2001
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: science fictionspace opera

A novella. Introduction by Stephen Baxter.

Richard Swift is a failure; a brilliant thinker and theorist on alien intelligence who has been excluded from the most significant project of his era due to a bitter family dispute. Bored and restless, he is shocked by the return of his oldest friend – the supposedly dead Roland Childe.

Once, Swift and Childe entertained each other with intricate games and challenges. Now Childe proposes that they – and a small number of other experts – tackle the greatest challenge of all: gaining entry into a sinister alien structure on a nameless world light years from Swift's home.

But Swift and Childe are not the first to attempt this task. Others have come before them and failed. Their bones litter the ground, testifying to the appalling punishments that the structure has inflicted on those who would dare to better it.

No one sane would take Childe up on his offer.

But there is nothing Swift likes better than a challenge.

updated 2017-01-17

Other books you might like

Ancillary Mercy (Imperial Radch, #3)Noumenon (Noumenon, #1)Nemesis Games (The Expanse, #5)Stowaway to the StarsPeacemaker (The Foreigner Universe, #15)
Online 39 visitors
Newest member: Khya
Total members: 6440