The Black Rood (The Celtic Crusades, #2)
Avg rating 4.00
4.00 stars
Give rating

Ratings (1)

The Black Rood

by Stephen R. Lawhead
Release date: 2000
Type: other fiction
Genres: mainstream

The Celtic Crusades is an epic trilogy of a Scottish noble family fighting for its existence and its faith during the age of the Crusades. The series traces five generations of knights and noblemen over a span of almost 500 hundred years, during the crucial period when military and sacred history melded. Set against a backdrop of the declining Holy Roman Empire and its ruinous wars with the Saracen East, this series is full of exciting drama. Each of the three books centers on one of three periods of Crusades history as well as one significant relic: The Iron Lance features the spear that pierced Christ's side; The Black Rood, the cross itself; and The Mystic Rose, the grail.

The Black Rood begins with Murdo, the courageous warrior from the first novel, as a grandfather and wealthy landowner in Scotland. When his brother returns home from the Holy Land, Murdo and his family enter into an exciting search for the Black Rood, a piece of the very cross upon which Christ died.

(updated 2017-01-14)

Other books you might like

Inferno (Robert Langdon, #4)The Labyrinth of the Spirits (The Cemetery of Forgotten Books, #4)The Pagan Lord (The Saxon Stories, #7)Death of Kings (The Saxon Stories, #6)Origin (Robert Langdon, #5)
Online 80 visitors
Newest member: David Vasquez
Total members: 5306