Hood (King Raven Trilogy #1) - Stephen R. Lawhead6.76

Robin Hood: The Legend Begins Anew.

For centuries, the legend of Robin Hood and his band of thieves has captivated the imagination. Now the familiar tale takes on new life, fresh meaning, and an unexpected setting.

Hunted like an animal by Norman invaders, Bran ap Brychan, heir to the throne Elfael, has abandoned his father's kingdom and fled to the greenwood. There, in the primeval forest of the Welsh borders, danger surrounds him – for this woodland is a living, breathing entity with mysterious powers and secrets, and Bran must find a way to make it his own if he is to survive.

Like the forest itself, Hood is deep, dark, and at times savagely brutal – yet full of enchantment and hope. Internationally-acclaimed author Stephen R. Lawhead has created a lyrical rendering of a time-honored story that will lead you down strange pathways into another time and place.

Rate this book

Release date: 2006
Genres: fantasy, history
Average rating: 6.76/10
Total ratings: 17
Updated: August 26, 2021

King Raven Trilogy :: Series

Hood (King Raven Trilogy #1)6.76
Scarlet (King Raven Trilogy #2)
Tuck (King Raven Trilogy #3)


9/10 |
March 09, 2015
My curiosity was piqued when I discovered this was set in the Welsh borderlands and in an earlier time period than we are accustomed to, but Lawhead's notes make perfect sense of his choice. The people in the book are wonderfully characterized, ...