Conan the Usurper - L. Sprague de Camp, Robert E. Howard

A collection of stories.


  • Introduction (L. Sprague de Camp)
  • The Treasure of Tranicos (Robert E. Howard and L. Sprague de Camp)
  • Wolves Beyond the Border (Robert E. Howard and L. Sprague de Camp)
  • The Phoenix on the Sword (Robert E. Howard)
  • The Scarlet Citadel (Robert E. Howard)

Fantasy-Adventure's most colorful hero... alone against a strange, savage world.

"Swimming Thunder River, Conan strikes out across the dank-forests of Pictland towards the distant sea"... and another chapter in the epic saga of Conan the Barbarian has begun. This volume chronicles some of the fiercest battles in his career before he became King of Aquilonia: "Rivers of gore and... fell adversaries, both natural and supernatural".

Here are four of the best Conan stories: The Treasure of Tranicos, The Phoenix on the Sword, The Scarlet Citadel and... never published anywhere before: Wolves Beyond the Border.

Meet Conan, the gigantic adventurer from Cimmeria – and discover one of the greatest thrills in modern fiction! With new introductions by Robert E. Howard's editor and collaborator, L. Sprague de Camp.

Rate this book

Release date: 1967
Genres: fantasysword and sorcery
Average rating: 6.00/10
Total ratings: 1
Updated: August 16, 2021