The Year of the Ransom

by Poul Anderson
The Year of the Ransom (Time Patrol #3) - Poul Anderson N/A

A novella. Illustrated by Paul Rivoche.

In the year 1532, Francisco Pizarro and his band of conquistadors have captured the Inca Atahualpa. They are holding him for a huge ransom – two rooms full of silver and one room full of gold.

In the year 1987, a young American woman takes a day of relaxation after working all summer as a guide in the Galapagos Islands.

In the year 1885, a wife in London worries, and wonders whether she will ever see her husband again.

In the year 1610, outlaws plan to steal the ransom of Atahualpa.

In the peculiar world of the Time Patrol, all these events are tied together, and it is Manse Everard's job to sort them out and keep them from changing history.

And a rogue conquistador with a stolen time machine may be more than Manse can handle!

In The Year of the Ransom Poul Anderson, author of the classic novels The Dancer from Atlantis and Tau Zero, and winner of eleven major awards for his fiction and poetry, continues the saga of the Time Patrol with the daring and panache familiar to his millions of fans.

Category: Science Fiction

Release date 1988

Details updated August 16, 2021

Rate this book
Choose a shelf for this book

Time Patrol :: Series

Series contains 4 primary works and has 7 total works.

Guardians of Time (Time Patrol #1) 7.00   1
Time Patrolman (Time Patrol #2) N/A
The Year of the Ransom (Time Patrol #3) N/A
The Shield of Time (Time Patrol #4) N/A
Annals of the Time Patrol N/A
The Time Patrol N/A
Time Patrol N/A