Shadow of a Dark Queen (The Serpentwar Saga #1) - Raymond E. Feist6.80

A compelling new series from the creator of the Riftwar saga.

From a true master of the fantasy genre comes the first volume in the long awaited Serpentwar Saga, set in the same imagined world as Raymond E. Feist's bestselling Riftwar books. Shadow of a Dark Queen is a stunning confirmation of Raymond E. Feist's reputaion as one of the most accomplished fantasy writers of our time.

Something dark is moving in distant nations, and great and ancient powers ready themselves for a final confrontation. A Dark Queen has raised a standard in remote lands and is gathering armies of unmatched might.

Into this battleground of good and evil comes a band of 'desperate men', among them, Erik, bastard son of the Baron of Darkmoor and his boyhood friend, Roo. They join with Calis, neither man nor elf, a being of incredible strength and skills who is apparently ageless; Calis's right hand man, Robert de Loungville who is willing to die for his master - and kill for him as well; Luis the Rodezian, Billy Goodwin and Sho-Pi - each with his own reasons for embarking on a quest that is at best dangerous and at worst suicidal.

These six join a company of condemned criminals, disguised as mercenaries, whose only hope for survival is to travel to face this ancient power and discover its true nature. With them travel Nakor the Isalani, the gambler who knows more magic than most magicians, yet who claims magic doesn't exist. He alone knows the true nature of the Dark Queen whose shadow threatens to engulf their world.

And there is the mysterious Miranda upon whom all must wager their lives. She appears to be an ally but knows much more than she is willing to tell. Does she have a hidden agenda of her own? And will she prove ally or even more deadly foe when the final confrontation is at hand?

Rate this book

Release date: 1994
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy
Average rating: 6.80/10
Total ratings: 115
Updated: August 15, 2021

The Serpentwar Saga :: Series

Belongs to the series The Riftwar Cycle

Shadow of a Dark Queen (The Serpentwar Saga #1)6.80
Rise of a Merchant Prince (The Serpentwar Saga #2)6.96
Rage of a Demon King (The Serpentwar Saga #3)7.00
Shards of a Broken Crown (The Serpentwar Saga #4)6.76


4/10 |
November 30, 2007
After reading the previous book from Feist (King's Buccaneer, part II of Krondor's Sons) and not liking it at all, I had serious doubts about this one. For a reader who has followed Feist through his previous series, this one offers little that ...
4/10 |
October 19, 2007
Shadow of a Dark Queen is the first book of The Serpentwar Saga. I enjoyed reading this book, although it wasn't as the previous books (Magician etc). By the way, if you've read the Finnish translations of The Serpentwar Saga books, you should ...