Operation Chaos (Operation Otherworld #1) - Poul Anderson N/A

A fixup novel.

  • Operation Afreet (1956)
  • Operation Salamander (1957)
  • Operation Incubus (1959)
  • Operation Changeling (1969)


In a war against Black Magic, two top ops are thrown together for a desparate, near suicidal mission, and when these two hard-bitten pros meet, it's love at first fight. But he's a giant werewolf, and she's a witch whose cat familiars don't like werewolves a whole lot more than they like ordinary dogs.

And that's a problem, because our lovebirds have been tasked with the most difficult assignment of the American-Caliphate War: to neutralize the enemy's ultimate weapon, the world's most powerful demon. If they succeed, their love will prove immortal; if they fail, it – and they – will be short-lived indeed.

Join Science Fiction and Fantasy's most decorated author in a world where magic works, war is waged with combat dragons, U.S. Airborne forces ride broomsticks into battle against flying carpets, and Hell itself is the ultimate target of...


Rate this book
Choose a shelf for this book

Release date 1971
Details updated August 16, 2022

Operation Otherworld :: Series

Series contains 2 primary works and has 3 total works.

Operation Chaos (Operation Otherworld #1) N/A
Operation Luna (Operation Otherworld #2) 7.00   1
Operation Otherworld N/A