The Van Rijn Method (The Technic Civilization Saga #1) - Poul Anderson N/A


When the human race spread out among the stars, they took the profit motive with them, and none exemplified that fact better than Nicholas Van Rijn, interstellar trader and capitalist extraordinaire. He might look like Falstaff and talk in a steady stream of malapropisms, but anybody who might take him for a bumbling buffoon would quickly find themselves taken – to the cleaners!

In Nick Van Rijn, Poul Anderson created one of the most memorable and popular characters in science fiction, and now, for the first time, all the novels and stories of Van Rijn and the Polesotechnic League will be published in chronological order in three volumes.


  • Introduction: Planets and Profits by Hank Davis
  • The Saturn Game
  • Wings of Victory
  • The Problem of Pain
  • Margin of Profit
  • How to be Ethnic in One Easy Lesson
  • The Three-Cornered Wheel
  • A Sun Invisible
  • The Season of Forgiveness
  • The Man Who Counts
  • Esau
  • Hiding Place

Rate this book
Choose a shelf for this book

Release date August 20, 2008
Details updated August 25, 2022

The Technic Civilization Saga :: Series

Series contains 7 primary works and has 7 total works.

Main series Technic History

The Van Rijn Method (The Technic Civilization Saga #1) N/A
David Falkayn: Star Trader (The Technic Civilization Saga #2) N/A
Rise of the Terran Empire (The Technic Civilization Saga #3) N/A
Young Flandry (The Technic Civilization Saga #4) N/A
Captain Flandry: Defender of the Terran Empire (The Technic Civilization Saga #5) N/A
Sir Dominic Flandry: The Last Knight of Terra (The Technic Civilization Saga #6) N/A
Flandry's Legacy (The Technic Civilization Saga #7) N/A