The Price of Spring (The Long Price Quartet #4) - Daniel Abraham9.66

"There is much to love in the Long Price Quartet. It is epic in scope but character-centered, with a setting both unique and utterly believable. The storytelling is smooth, careful, and – best of all – unpredictable." – Patrick Rothfuss, bestselling author of The Name of the Wind

More than a decade later, the world is still broken by the terrible war between the cities of the Khaiem and the Galtic empire. Thousands died under Galtic blades, but the war cost both sides something much more precious.

When Galt stripped the cities of their magical defenses, two poets worked desperately to prevent the annihilation of the last free city by summoning one last andat. The wild uncontrolled magic of their failure left both nations crippled and sterile.

Otan Machi, now emperor of all the Khaiate cities, is fighting to build a future from the ruins, forging a new empire from the remnants of the two fallen and bitter enemies. But his old friend Maati Vaupathai – the last poet of the Khaiem – lives in exile, secretly working against Otah to create an andat that might restore the fallen cities to their lost glory, no matter the cost.

Two men bound by love, hatred, and history are doomed to this final conflict, two incompatible visions of the future struggle against each other, and two wounded empires stand on the brink of redemption or extinction in a powerful saga of a world gone mad.

Rate this book

Release date: July 19, 2009
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy
Average rating: 9.66/10
Total ratings: 6
Updated: August 25, 2021

The Long Price Quartet :: Series

Daniel Abraham’s classic Long Price Quartet is groundbreaking unique fantasy of rare power and originality.  The aggressively expansionist Galt empire has already conquered lands across a huge continent But the cities of the Khaiem resist Galt’s power with the andat - creatures of magic with godlike powers Political intrigue and deep treachery combine to shift the balance of power in a world of ancient empires and immortal magics. This unforgettable fantasy epic series starting with A Shadow in Summer marks Daniel Abraham as a unique voice and one of the most enthralling fantasy writers to emerge in recent years.

Related series The Long Price (omnibus editions)

A Shadow in Summer (The Long Price Quartet #1)7.50
A Betrayal in Winter (The Long Price Quartet #2)8.42
An Autumn War (The Long Price Quartet #3)9.28
The Price of Spring (The Long Price Quartet #4)9.66


10/10 |
February 09, 2010
I think that Daniel Abraham's The Long Price Quartet is one of the best fantasy series ever written. He writes good and fluent prose. Each new book in this series has been better than the previous book, which is quite an achievement. In my opinion ...