The Sword of Knowledge - C. J. Cherryh, Mercedes Lackey, Nancy Asire, Leslie Fish

An omnibus edition of A Dirge for Sabis, Wizard Spawn and Reap the Whirlwind.


The Empire of Sabis was falling, besieged by the army of a more powerful empire and by hostile wizards. A small group of philosopher-scientists could reverse the tide if they could convince the rulers of Sabis to build the deadly new weapon that they have invented: the cannon. But when the rulers prove too short-sighted and Sabis falls, the scientists flee, disguising their knowledge under the cover of religion.

Though centuries will pass and the Sabirn race will be oppressed and persecuted, the powerful knowledge will be preserved in secret by the Order. And the time will come when only one thing stands against destruction by a ruthless and invincible barbarian horde: The Sword of Knowledge.

Rate this book

Release date: 1995
Genres: fantasy
Updated: August 29, 2021

The Sword of Knowledge :: Series

Cherryh did not write the three novels in the Sword of Knowledge series, but received co-author\'s credit because she penned a foreword to each.
The Sword of Knowledge
A Dirge for Sabis
Wizard Spawn (The Sword of Knowledge #2)
Reap the Whirlwind (The Sword of Knowledge #3)