Reap the Whirlwind (The Sword of Knowledge #3) - C. J. Cherryh, Mercedes Lackey


The Roman Empire. Imagine its fall. Now imagine that warring time with cannon — and a working system of magic. C.J. Cherryh did. In The Sword of Knowledge Cherryh has explored the fall of empires and the impact of technological knowledge, while replacing the repressed religion of the Christians with a Church of Knowledge.

In A Dirge for Sabis we saw the Sabirn Empire fall to barbarians because the rulers were too inflexible to make use of the technology available to them.

Wizard Spawn opens centuries later, with the Sabirn empire a blighted memory, and the barbarians established as the new and oppressive rulers.

Now another half millennium has passed, and new barbarians are on the rise. It will be a battle of barbarian vigor vs. The Sword of Knowledge in


Rate this book

Release date: 1989
Genres: fantasy
Updated: August 24, 2021

The Sword of Knowledge :: Series

Cherryh did not write the three novels in the Sword of Knowledge series, but received co-author\'s credit because she penned a foreword to each.
The Sword of Knowledge
A Dirge for Sabis
Wizard Spawn (The Sword of Knowledge #2)
Reap the Whirlwind (The Sword of Knowledge #3)