Heat of Fusion and Other Stories
Give rating


Heat of Fusion and Other Stories

by John M. Ford
Release date: 2004
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: science fiction, short stories

John M. Ford is an astonishingly versatile writer. He has written award-winning fantasy novels (The Dragon Waiting, winner of the 1984 World Fantasy Award), award-winning fantasy role-playing games (The Yellow Clearance Black Box Blues), New York Times bestselling Star Trek novels (the classic The Final Reflection and How Much for Just the Planet), and the only poem to ever win the World Fantasy Award for best short fiction (Winter Solstice, Camelot Station). He is as at home writing sonnets as he is writing short stories or novels.

Heat of Fusion and Other Stories collects stories and poems written over the course of two decades. It includes award winners and award nominees, as well as some rarities, amusements, and astonishments.

Here are short stories such as Chromatic Aberration, Preflash, Erase/Record/Play, and the title story, Heat of Fusion, that take us from the near past to the near future, and on into worlds of wonder. And there are poems - the award-winner Winter Solstice, Camelot Station, plus the amazing Cosmology: A User's Manual, the rare The Man in the Golden Mask, and the moving 110 Stories, which has never been published in book form.

Twenty-two works in all, gifts from the talent that Robert Jordan calls "the best writer in America, bar none."

(updated 2010-09-07)

Other books you might like

The Quantum Thief (Jean le Flambeur, #1)Dark Life (Dark Life, #1)Body Electric (Mystic City, #3)The City of Mirrors (The Passage Trilogy, #3)Leviathan Wakes (The Expanse, #1)
Online 34 visitors
Newest member: duiduli
Total members: 5215