Review: A Cruel Wind

Written by Seregil of Rhiminee - 4.0

A Cruel Wind is an omnibus edition of the first three Dread Empire books (A Shadow of All Night's Falling, October's Baby and All Darkness Met), which were published before The Black Company books. I think it's great that Night Shade Books decided to publish this omnibus edition, because these books are difficult to find nowadays. These Dread Empire books were quite small and compact, so it didn't take long to read them. They were interesting, well written and fascinating fantasy books for adults. Although these books weren't as excellent as The Black Company books, they were quite original and enjoyable books. I think it's great that Glen Cook doesn't recycle basic fantasy elements in his books. He has his own voice and he knows how to write top quality fantasy (I think I could say that these books were more interesting than many other fantasy books). I can recommend A Cruel Wind to all Glen Cook fans and other fantasy readers. If you've never read any books by Glen Cook, this omnibus edition is a good starting point.
Was this review helpful to you? 

About the Book :: A Cruel Wind

Glen Cook Release date: 2007
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasydark fantasy, collection
Tags: military

Introduction by Jeff VanderMeer. Cover by Raymond Swanland.

A Chronicle of the Dread Empire

An omnibus collection of the first three Dread Empire novels: A Shadow of All Night Falling, October's Baby and All Darkness Met.

The war that even wizards dread begins with A Shadow of All Night Falling. Across the mountains called Dragon's Teeth, beyond the chill reach of the werewind and the fires ... (more)

Other books you might like

Port of ShadowsThe White Rose (The Black Company, #3)The Return of the Black Company (The Black Company (omnibus editions), #3)Shadows Linger (The Black Company, #2)A Fortress in Shadow
Online 1 member and 33 visitors
Seregil of Rhiminee
Newest member: Steffi
Total members: 6058