The Best of Clifford D. Simak - Clifford D. Simak8

Review :: The Best of Clifford D. Simak

Written by Blue Six

Rather than being “The Best Of.....” this is a collection of ten short stories ranging from 1939 to 1971 and as the author readily admits in his rather modest introduction the first two are not in the same league as some of his later work. The full listing in my 1975 Sphere paperback are: 1939: Madness from Mars 1940: Sunspot Purge 1958: The Sitters 1959: A Death in the House 1960: Final Gentleman 1961: Shotgun Cure 1963: Day of Truce 1965: Small Deer 1970: The Thing in the Stone 1971: The Autumn Land Bibliography This is a great collection and a good introduction to Simak's work, I would recommend this to anyone interested in discovering one of the more significant Science Fiction authors of the last century.

Was this review helpful to you?

The Best of Clifford D. Simak

Description of the 2010 e-book edition:

This Halcyon Classics ebook contains five works by 20th century science fiction writer Clifford Donald Simak. Simak (1904-1988) wrote during the pulp era and during the Golden Age of Science Fiction, achieving a following for his stories based on super science and what he called "realistic fiction."

During his career, Simak received three Hugo awards and one Nebula award, and was named the third Grand Master by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America in 1977.

This ebook includes an active table of contents for easy navigation.

Hellhounds of the Cosmos
Project Mastodon
The Street that Wasn’t There
The World that Couldn't Be

This unexpurgated edition contains the complete text, with minor errors and omissions corrected.