Latest Book Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 36

King of Ashes (The Firemane Saga, #1) al fraser wrote a review (2018-05-07)
King of Ashes - Raymond E. Feist

an excellent read, cannot wait for the next book in the series.  All Feist readers will enjoy this book.

King of Ashes (The Firemane Saga, #1) al fraser wrote a review (2018-05-07)
King of Ashes - Raymond E. Feist
[ SPOILERS - click to open ]
King of Ashes (The Firemane Saga, #1) al fraser wrote a review (2018-05-07)
King of Ashes - Raymond E. Feist

an excellent read, cannot wait for the next book in the series.  All Feist readers will enjoy this book.

King of Ashes (The Firemane Saga, #1) al fraser wrote a review (2018-05-07)
King of Ashes - Raymond E. Feist

an excellent read, cannot wait for the next book in the series.  All Feist readers will enjoy this book.

King of Ashes (The Firemane Saga, #1) al fraser wrote a review (2018-05-07)
King of Ashes - Raymond E. Feist

an excellent read, cannot wait for the next book in the series.  All Feist readers will enjoy this book.

King of Ashes (The Firemane Saga, #1) al fraser wrote a review (2018-05-07)
King of Ashes - Raymond E. Feist

an excellent read, cannot wait for the next book in the series.  All Feist readers will enjoy this book.

They Walked Like Men Blue Six wrote a review (2018-03-11)
They Walked Like Men - Clifford D. Simak

 

An Alien Invasion story with a difference, rather than destroy the planet they try to buy it.

 

There is a certain similarity with The Body Snatchers by Jack Finney but there is also an element of social commentary and its a great pity it was never made into a film back in the 1960s as it could have been one of the Film Noir Sci-Fi classics.

 

Recommended to lovers of the original Twilight Zone series.

 

The Gospel of Loki (Loki, #1) HourglassEyes wrote a review (2018-02-28)
The Gospel of Loki - Joanne Harris

Very much liked this version of the lore, told by the Trickster himself how he was betrayed by Odin in the begin with and how they all were deceived in the end, what led to the destruction of Asgard and to death to it's gods.

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #1) PercyJacksonFan wrote a review (2018-02-26)
Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief - Rick Riordan

I just love this.

Beacon 23: The Complete Novel Elke wrote a review (2018-03-07)
Beacon 23: The Complete Novel - Hugh Howey

Those were five cracking good stories, this time a mixture of philosophy, psychology and fiction.
The stories follow one of the astronauts which are spread over the galaxy to man and maintain beacons. We get to know a person who is extremely lonely and the ways how a human mind can work in this situation.
I found those stories highly instructive and fascinating, sometimes funny, sometimes sad - even disturbing. I'm really glad that I've found those books and would like to recommend it to you all.

Dragon Wing (The Death Gate Cycle, #1) Melissa Durbin wrote a review (2017-12-30)
Dragon Wing - Margaret Weis, Tracy Hickman

This is the series that started my love of reading. Every fantasy novel I've read, probably EVERY novel I've read, stems from this book/series.

Return of the Living Dad (Doctor Who: The New Adventures, #53) Braxiatel Flux wrote a review (2017-12-10)
Return of the Living Dad - Kate Orman

Kate Orman never fails to impress me, as I was reading her first novel but I got the sudden Urge to read Return of the Living Dad. And I love the book, It's well based, and also a bit of a fun read. This Book exploits a bit to Bernice Summerfield's - or simply just as Benny - Past, by touching on her family by introducing her father Issac Summerfield. This introduce an Alien Race from the Television Story from the Classic Era so that is cool as well.  

Allegiant (Divergent, #3) HourglassEyes wrote a review (2017-11-11)
Allegiant - Veronica Roth

Ending aside Divergent series has been quite typical y/ya dystopia trilogy. But since the ending did surprise me by not following the mainstream I'll give the extra half-star.

The One HourglassEyes wrote a review (2017-11-07)
The One - John Marrs

Following up five people in the UK, who's lives are turned around as they find their Match by the company wich is specialised in fingind your One True Match by your DNA.

Their stories are told by turns, each with their own twist on the plot.

Practically their stories brings up the question can you find your true love through a simple genetic match or if you do, is your perfect match really the right option for you and what happens to those who are left behind or can't find ... (read more)

Tigerheart's Shadow Jordan wrote a review (2017-10-08)
Tigerheart's Shadow - Erin Hunter

It was an amazing story definitely is a 5 out of 5 for me.

Circle's End (Sholan Alliance, #9) Ceridance wrote a review (2017-09-15)
Circle's End - Lisanne Norman

I read and loved the first book when it was first released. I wanted more after that without expecting it, pleasantly surprised when the second book came out then eagerly waiting for the others after that. It was a long, hard wait that I kept up with, going so far as to join the forum(s) in eager hope of news when I thought the wait too much. I am a patient person, it was enough to see the author interact with her fans in the forum. This wait was near torture when I discovered this was to be ... (read more)

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Harry Potter, #8) Broken Shade wrote a review (2017-09-09)
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - J. K. Rowling, Jack Thorne, John Tiffany
[ SPOILERS - click to open ]
In Evil Times (The Imperials Saga, #2) HourglassEyes wrote a review (2017-08-11)
In Evil Times - Melinda Snodgrass

Good, but not as good as the first one. This one seems to be the infamous second act where everything that could go wrong does go wrong.

Does it make it bad? No

Is it annoying? Hell yeah! Practically nothing good happens to anyone!

This book is about humanitys eternal mistake: Conquer and call it helping. Crush anyone with a different view, because this is how it's always been.

Kings of the Wyld (The Band, #1) HourglassEyes wrote a review (2017-07-25)
Kings of the Wyld - Nicholas Eames

There's something compelling about this band of old farts, used-to-be heros. Eames's story is a mix of borrowed easy jokes, old friendships that has it's cracks, yet still holds and actual meaning of friendshps and getting old after being an actual hero. And of course about that "One Last Job".

 

It's seems quite easy read, but if you're not carefull you easily find yourself in a mist of What is going on here?

Lucifer: Book Five (Lucifer, #5) HourglassEyes wrote a review (2017-06-07)
Lucifer: Book Five - Mike Carey
[ SPOILERS - click to open ]
Sharp Ends Elke wrote a review (2017-05-21)
Sharp Ends - Joe Abercrombie

For this book I'd like to have the possibility to rate each story separately. I liked all of them, but those of Shevedieh and Javre were the most hilarious, especially "Two’s Company", where Javre runs into Whirrun of Bligh. Their conversion before they start ... well, whatever they do afterwards ... is so funny and comical, you shouldn't read that book in public as not to disturb your fellow men for laughing out loud. 5 stars for Shevedieh and Javre!

After the End (After the End, #1) Charlotte Black wrote a review (2017-04-12)
After the End - Amy Plum

I was very excited when I found out Amy was writing an apocalyptic novel. I loved the Revenant series and her writing style. Then after reading the synopsis I thought, ok, maybe this one won't be for me but I'll try anyway.

No one can take away Amy's imagination. The start of AtE is a draw. Immediately you're reading about lives of teenagers who live outside the norm. A teenage girl, Juneau, is preparing to be the next Sage. I get the impression she'll actually be ... (read more)

Uninvited (Uninvited, #1) Charlotte Black wrote a review (2017-04-12)
Uninvited - Sophie Jordan

What's to say about Uninvited? Well, it's a book of two halves. The first half is Davy and her perfect life and how everyone shuns her on hearing the news of her HTS detection. This half tends to be very high school drama-ish, 'woe is me' type of angle. The second half gets very Divergent/Hunger Games-esque. Davy accepts she's a Carrier and has no choice in life any more. The book does end on a cliffhanger also.

Points I liked. Sean was a cool love interest. However he did ... (read more)

Jenna Pox (Jenny Pox, #1) Charlotte Black wrote a review (2017-04-12)
Jenna Pox - J. L. Bryan

Sometimes there's that book in your 'to-read' pile that just keeps getting pushed back. I'll admit I'm guilty of that with this particular book. For no other reason than something else always came out, or I received an ARC of a favourite author or sometimes I simply chose another from the dreaded TBR list.

I can safely say I wished I'd read this book sooner. I loved it, I loved Jenny and although it was a long time till we had Seth joining her I thought they made a formidable force. ... (read more)

Days of Blood and Starlight (Daughter of Smoke and Bone, #2) Charlotte Black wrote a review (2017-04-12)
Days of Blood and Starlight - Laini Taylor

It took me a while to get back to this series. the first book 'Daughter of Smoke and Bone' was stunning. The world building extraordinary from the start. The concept of the story, a girl who is somehow connected to demonic creatures and an angel, was crafted together so beautifully I was gripped. I loved the romance, I loved Karou and I wanted to read more.

But then we have that dreaded interlude where we have to wait for book 2. You've been there, I'm sure. I didn't ... (read more)

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 36

Online 45 visitors
Newest member: Roberta Wolff
Total members: 4393