Latest Book Reviews

The Wicked Deep Aleksandra wrote a review (2020-09-11)
The Wicked Deep - Shea Ernshaw
[ SPOILERS - click to open ]
The Angel of the Crows Jackson wrote a review (2020-09-04)
The Angel of the Crows - Katherine Addison
[ SPOILERS - click to open ]
The Martian Jackson wrote a review (2020-09-03)
The Martian - Andy Weir

I loved this book. I read it all in one sitting and I felt like I knew everything I needed to know about surviving in space on my own. This is one of the best books I've ever read, I think.

Ready Player One (Ready Player One, #1) Jackson wrote a review (2020-09-03)
Ready Player One - Ernest Cline

really liked this book. Ernest Cline managed to build a post-apocalyptic world that actually felt new, rather than just a re-do of an old idea. Cline managed to hook me from the start and I felt like I was following along the clues with him. But, whatever you do, do not watch the movie. It didn't do the book any favours, just sayin'.

A Little Hatred (The Age of Madness, #1) kiratia wrote a review (2020-08-08)
A Little Hatred - Joe Abercrombie

Wonderful storytelling, as always. I was blown away by the dark humor and realistic, well-developed characters. Everyone's scared and no one's a hero unless by accident of course.

This book takes place after a couple of decades from the ending of the First Law Trilogy on the brink of an industrial revolution. Many of the old characters have gone back to mud but we get to glimpse some old ones. Can't say that I don't miss my favorite characters from the First Law Trilogy. The main ... (more)

The Colour of Magic (Discworld, #1) Pippa wrote a review (2020-06-19)
The Colour of Magic - Terry Pratchett

I fell in love with this author by the second paragraph. Here is a delightful satirical writing style, full of humour and eloquent in its execution. It’s clear right away if you are going to connect with the dry wit and the prose so beautifully crowded with lighthearted potshots at humanity.

The first of Terry Pratchett's Discworld series, this novel plays with conventional ideas about the world, especially mythological archetypes and their use in the sword and sorcery fantasy ... (more)

Alphabet of Thorn Pippa wrote a review (2020-06-19)
Alphabet of Thorn - Patricia A. McKillip

Well-loved Sci-Fi/Fantasy author Patricia A. McKillip released this book in 2005. Alphabet of Thorn is a story about the magic of words, about obsession, and about love. 

An orphan has been raised by the librarians of a great castle. At sixteen, through her job as translator, the magic of a book tangles her life with that of the young queen and others of the realm. This history written in a language of thorns unveils secrets that will change everything.

The story is ... (more)

The Last Unicorn Pippa wrote a review (2020-06-19)
The Last Unicorn - Peter S. Beagle

Authors are warned not to expect literary fiction to succeed commercially. Yet one of the most popular fantasies ever is a beautiful example of literary fantasy. I read The Last Unicorn recently for the first time.

No story is the same for every reader. We shape our own version with our widely varied personal memories and perspective. This is especially true with literary fiction, which relies on the audience's interest in such things as allusions and undercurrents of meaning.
more)

Blue Shift (The Second Species Trilogy, #1) Spaced_out wrote a review (2020-05-29)
Blue Shift - Jane O'Reilly
[ SPOILERS - click to open ]
The Tabit Genesis Spaced_out wrote a review (2020-05-28)
The Tabit Genesis - Tony Gonzales

I like the world, I like the premise, good imagination and rather good writing. On the other hand, so many characters (who may have many names) that I got lost at times. This is written to be a Book 1 of a series, a setup for an upsell. That I don't really like. Things are left unsolved mainly. I don´t know if I´m going to buy the sequels, but I would definitely like to know how this all ends. Maybe my library can help me when the time comes. Mr. Gonzales is a great writer in my opinion, I ... (more)

Revenger (Revenger, #1) Spaced_out wrote a review (2020-05-28)
Revenger - Alastair Reynolds

I like Mr. Reynolds´ writing, he is good. This book has maybe a little thin plot and the events maybe happen a little too easy for the characters, but it is a good book and worth reading. I like the World especially in this one, and the characters, and of course will read the sequels in time. I´m a fan! Good job.

Blackthorns of the Forgotten Noel O'Neil wrote a review (2020-05-13)
Blackthorns of the Forgotten - Bree T. Donovan

This book was a surprising treat. I bought it because of my interest in Irish folklore. I loved the way the author used this idea as a backdrop for a very unusual, but believable romance. If you want a good laugh, cry and a little bit of magic, I highly recommend!

J.O.N.

The Red Scrolls of Magic (The Eldest Curses, #1) HourglassEyes wrote a review (2020-05-12)
The Red Scrolls of Magic - Cassandra Clare, Wesley Chu

This is purely to Malec fans.

Moonrise Blue Six wrote a review (2019-09-25)
Moonrise - Mike Ashley

An eclectic collection of stories some of which are ridiculous by today's standards but are worth reading just to appreciate how ideas have changed.

The stand out story is"Dead Centre" by Judith Merrill which concentrates on the heroes family but worthy contributions are also made by Edmond Hamilton, Paul Ernst and Gordon R Dickson.

Mike Ashley's Introduction is also very good and clearly well researched

 

 

A Memory Called Empire (Teixcalaan, #1) Curtis wrote a review (2019-04-25)
A Memory Called Empire - Arkady Martine

Wow, to compare this to a Culture novel is an affront. I tried so hard to like this book but just couldn’t connect. Please avoid unless you want to read something to fall asleep to... 

The Scribbly Man (Children of D'Hara, #1) Michelle Chaisson wrote a review (2019-04-05)
The Scribbly Man - Terry Goodkind

I absolutely loved this book! I had been tempted to wait to read it, but I am so glad that I didn't! It was wonderful to be with Richard and Kahlan again, and I was thrilled to see how intricately he wove so many previous story-lines into this fresh and haunting new plot. I was thoroughly hooked by chapter two. One new character has me almost as intrigued as the ending, and both have me happily anticipating the next book in the series already.

Sherlock Holmes: The Shadow of the Rat & The Tangled Skein Blue Six wrote a review (2019-03-10)
Sherlock Holmes: The Shadow of the Rat & The Tangled Skein - David Stuart Davies

 

A great many Sherlock Holmes stories have been written since the passing of the great Sir Arthur Conan Doyle but very few authors have managed to capture his style happily David Stuart Davies has done just this. Both stories are extremely well written and could very easily pass for the work of Conan Doyle were it not for the fact that they contain a supernatural element, in “The Shadow of the Rat” Holmes encounters a European Baroness with psychic ... (more)

Salvation (The Salvation Sequence, #1) recheal Jacobs wrote a review (2018-12-30)
Salvation - Peter F. Hamilton

I love the fact that Peter Hamilton continues to create engrossing books that one would rather read all night than sleep. 

Emperor of Mu (Saga of Six Realms, #1) Graham Arnott wrote a review (2018-11-20)
Emperor of Mu - Jason Beveridge

I really enjoyed reading this book! Great plot and the author paints an evocative sense of being in amongst the action.

Highly recommend 

Fortune's Wheel (Sholan Alliance, #2) Sarah Towell wrote a review (2018-09-05)
Fortune's Wheel - Lisanne Norman

This was the book that got me into this series. Found it on my mom's book shelf about 20 years ago. I enjoyed the conflicts and the characters. Honestly if you like space operas, star trek and cats you'll like this series. It is broken into parts and takes place immediately after the first ends. I enjoyed getting to know more about the Sholans and their Talents.

Turning Point (Sholan Alliance, #1) Sarah Towell wrote a review (2018-09-05)
Turning Point - Lisanne Norman

First book in a great series. It's a bit rough as it is her first book and just starting to flesh out the world's but over all is a good read. If you like space operas and cats you should read it. I've read it numerous times over the years and it still holds up for me. The first time being about 20 years ago when I had found the second in the series on my mom's book shelf. Read it loved it hunted down the rest of the series

The Hidden World (The Imperials Saga, #3) HourglassEyes wrote a review (2018-09-01)
The Hidden World - Melinda Snodgrass

Back on great. Snograss still manages to confuse. I'm loving it.

Sworn to the Night (The Wisdom's Grave Trilogy, #1) Anthony wrote a review (2018-08-24)
Sworn to the Night - Craig Schaefer

I was really surprised by how much I enjoyed this book. I love Schaefer's Daniel Faust series but am not so keen on the Harmony Black books so I was prepared for the possibility that it wasn't going to grab me.


What I wasn't prepared for was that I literally didn't want to put the book down, so I stayed up all through the night and read the book in one go. The main protagonists (no ... (more)

The Last Sun (The Tarot Sequence, #1) Anthony wrote a review (2018-08-22)
The Last Sun - K. D. Edwards
[ SPOILERS - click to open ]
King of Ashes (The Firemane Saga, #1) al fraser wrote a review (2018-05-07)
King of Ashes - Raymond E. Feist

an excellent read, cannot wait for the next book in the series.  All Feist readers will enjoy this book.

Online 35 visitors
Newest member: Rachel Oliver
Total members: 6172