The Man Who Lost the Sea

by Theodore Sturgeon
Release date: 2005
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: science fiction, short stories

By the winner of the Hugo, the Nebula, and the World Fantasy Life Achievement Awards, this latest volume finds Theodore Sturgeon in fine form as he gains recognition for the first time as a literary short story writer. Written between 1957 and 1960, when Sturgeon and his family lived in both America and Grenada, finally settling in Woodstock, New York, these stories reflect his increasing preference for psychology over ray guns. Stories such as "The Man Who Told Lies," "A Touch of Strange," and "It Opens the Sky" show influences as diverse as William Faulkner and John Dos Passos. Always in touch with the zeitgeist, Sturgeon takes on the Russian Sputnik launches of 1957 with "The Man Who Lost the Sea," switching the scene to Mars and injecting his trademark mordancy and vivid wordplay into the proceedings. These mature stories also don't stint on the scares, as "The Graveyard Reader" – one of Boris Karloff's favorite stories – shows. Acclaimed novelist Jonathan Lethem's foreword neatly summarizes Sturgeon's considerable achievement here.


  • Foreword by Jonathan Lethem
  • A Crime for Llewellyn
  • It Opens the Sky
  • A Touch of Strange
  • The Comedian's Children
  • The Graveyard Reader
  • The Man Who Told Lies
  • The Man Who Lost the Sea
  • The Man Who Figured Everything (with Don Ward)
  • Like Young
  • Night Ride
  • Need
  • How to Kill Aunty
  • Tandy's Story
  • Story Notes by Paul Williams
updated 2017-01-18

Other books you might like

The InheritanceThe Long War (The Long Earth, #2)Ancillary Justice (Imperial Radch, #1)Rip Tide (Dark Life, #2)The Land Without Stars (Valerian and Laureline, #3)
Online 43 visitors
Newest member: STACY MARION
Total members: 5831