Wall of Serpents (Harold Shea #3) - L. Sprague de Camp, Fletcher Pratt 5.20   20

Wall of Serpents is also published as The Enchanter Compleated (1980).


  • The Wall of Serpents (1953)
  • The Green Magician (1954)


His name was Harold Shea and he lived, quite simply, in Ohio, though he'd found his wife, Belphebe, in an Elizabethan wood, and lost two friends to the lures of Xanadu. And unless one of them, Pete the cop, showed up soon – back in Ohio, Harold would to under arrest for kidnapping an officer of the law.

So Harold, amateur enchanter, and Belphebe magicked off to find Pete – only to find themselves in the land of the Finnish Kalevala, facing a horde of angry warriors and a seething wall of serpents.

When a local sorcerer conjured up dozens of Harolds and Belphebes, it looked as if they had a pretty good chance of escaping in the general confusion. Then all the duplicates suddenly decided to disappear...

Release date 1960

Details updated August 21, 2021

Rate this book
Choose a shelf for this book

Harold Shea :: Series

Series contains 3 primary works and has 4 total works.

Also known as Incomplete Enchanter series.

Related series Harold Shea (omnibus editions)

The Incomplete Enchanter (Harold Shea #1) 7.50   2
The Castle of Iron (Harold Shea #2) 8.00   1
Wall of Serpents (Harold Shea #3) 5.20   20
Sir Harold and the Gnome King N/A

Community Reviews & Rates

708 ratings
0 reviews
1 posts
June 12, 2013
Gave 6 / 10 rating to this book
1535 ratings
0 reviews
132 posts
February 8, 2011
Gave 8 / 10 rating to this book
1121 ratings
0 reviews
3 posts
September 24, 2010
Gave 4 / 10 rating to this book
863 ratings
0 reviews
13 posts
April 19, 2010
Gave 6 / 10 rating to this book