Red Rising (The Red Rising Series #1) - Pierce Brown8.00

Pierce Brown’s relentlessly entertaining debut channels the excitement of The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins and Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card.

“I live for the dream that my children will be born free,” she says. “That they will be what they like. That they will own the land their father gave them.”
“I live for you,” I say sadly.
Eo kisses my cheek. “Then you must live for more.”

Darrow is a miner and a Red, a member of the lowest caste in the color-coded society of the future. Like his fellow Reds, he digs all day, believing that he and his people are making the surface of the planet livable for future generations. Darrow has never seen the sky.
Yet he spends his life willingly, knowing that his blood and sweat will one day result in a better future for his children.
But Darrow and his kind have been betrayed. Soon he discovers that humanity already reached the surface generations ago. Vast cities and sprawling parks spread across the planet. Darrow and Reds like him are nothing more than slaves to a decadent ruling class.
Inspired by a longing for justice, and driven by the memory of lost love, Darrow joins a resistance group in order to infiltrate the ruling class and destroy society from within. He will stop at nothing to bring down his enemies... even if it means he has to become one of them to do so.

Rate this book

Release date: January 2014
Genres: science fictiondystopia
Average rating: 8.00/10
Total ratings: 4
Updated: November 22, 2020

The Red Rising Series :: Series

Red Rising (The Red Rising Series #1)8.00
Golden Son (The Red Rising Series #2)
Morning Star (The Red Rising Series #3)
Iron Gold (The Red Rising Series #4)
Dark Age (The Red Rising Series #5)7.76
Untitled (The Red Rising Series #6)