The Heart Goes Last

Margaret Atwood
science fiction > dystopia
The Heart Goes Last - Margaret Atwood3.60

Note! This novel is a re-written version of the entire Positron series. It is not the same book as The Heart Goes Last (2013).

Living in their car, surviving on tips, Charmaine and Stan are in a desperate state. So, when they see an advertisement for Consilience, a ‘social experiment’ offering stable jobs and a home of their own, they sign up immediately. All they have to do in return for suburban paradise is give up their freedom every second month – swapping their home for a prison cell. At first, all is well. But then, unknown to each other, Stan and Charmaine develop passionate obsessions with their ‘Alternates,’ the couple that occupy their house when they are in prison. Soon the pressures of conformity, mistrust, guilt and sexual desire begin to take over.

Rate this book

Release date: September 2015
Genres: science fictiondystopia
Average rating: 3.60/10
Total ratings: 5
Updated: August 31, 2021

Positron :: Series

The Heart Goes Last3.60
I'm Starved for You (Positron #1)
Choke Collar (Positron #2)
Erase Me (Positron #3)
The Heart Goes Last (Positron #4)