A Blink of the Screen: Collected Shorter Fiction
Avg rating 4.00
4.00 stars
Give rating

Ratings (5)

A Blink of the Screen: Collected Shorter Fiction

by Terry Pratchett
Release date: October 11, 2012
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: science fiction, fantasy, short stories

In the four decades since his first book appeared in print, Terry Pratchett has become one of the world's bestselling and best-loved authors. Here for the first time are his short stories and other short-form fiction collected into one volume. A Blink of the Screen charts the course of Pratchett's long writing career: from his schooldays through to his first writing job on the Bucks Free Press; to the origins of his debut novel, The Carpet People; and on to the dizzy mastery of the phenomenally successful Discworld series.
Here are characters both familiar and yet to be discovered; abandoned worlds and others still expanding; adventure, chickens, death, disco and, actually, some quite disturbing ideas about Christmas - all shot through with his inimitable brand of humour.

With an introduction by Booker Prize-winning author A. S. Byatt, illustrations by the late Josh Kirby and drawings by the author himself, this is a book to treasure.


  • Foreword by A. S. Byatt
  • Non-Discworld Shorter Writings
  1. The Hades Business (1963)
  2. Solution (1964)
  3. The Picture (1965)
  4. The Prince and the Partridge (1968)
  5. Rincemangle, the Gnome of Even Moor (1973)
  6. Kindly Breathe in Short, Think Pants (1976)
  7. The Glastonbury Tales (1977)
  8. There's No Fool Like an Old Fool Found in an English Queue (1978)
  9. Coo, They've Given Me the Bird (1978)
  10. And Mind the Monoliths (1978)
  11. The High Meggas (1986)
  12. Twenty Pense, with Envelope and Seasonal Greeting (1987)
  13. Incubist (1988)
  14. Final Reward (1988)
  15. Turntables of the Night (1989)
  16. #ifdefDEBUG + `world/enough' + `time' (1990)
  17. Holliwood Chickens (1990)
  18. The Secret Book of the Dead (1991)
  19. Once and Future (1995)
  20. FTB (1996)
  21. Sir Joshua Easement: A Biographical Note (2010)
  • Discworld Shorter Writings
  1. Troll Bridge (1992)
  2. Theatre of Cruelty (1993)
  3. The Sea and Little Fishes (1998)
  4. The Ankh-Morpork National Anthem (1999)
  5. Medical Notes (2002)
  6. Thud: A Historical Perspective (2002)
  7. A Few Words from Lord Havelock Vetinari (2002)
  8. Death and What Comes Next (2004)
  9. A Collegiate Casting-out of Devilish Devices (2005)
  10. Minutes of the Meeting to Form the Proposed Ankh-Morpork Federation of Scouts (2007)
  11. The Ankh-Morpork Football Association Hall of Fame playing cards (2009)
  • Appendix
  1. Deleted extract from 'The Sea and Little Fishes'
(updated 2017-01-18)

Other books you might like

The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year: Volume Eleven (The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year, #11)A Certain Scientific Railgun: Volume 4 (A Certain Scientific Railgun, #4)Enemy of the Realm (Dragons vs. Drones, #2)Mystic City (Mystic City, #1)Apocalypse Girl Dreaming
Online 33 visitors
Newest member: Greg
Total members: 5185