The Medusa Chronicles

Alastair Reynolds, Stephen Baxter
science fiction
The Medusa Chronicles - Alastair Reynolds, Stephen Baxter

Inspired by Sir Arthur C. Clarke's short story A Meeting with Medusa, this novel, with permission from the Clarke Estate, continues the story of Commander Howard Falcon over centuries of space-exploration, interaction with AI, first contact and beyond. All brought to life by two of our greatest SF authors, Stephen Baxter and Alastair Reynolds.

Howard Falcon almost lost his life in an accident... and a combination of human ingenuity and technical expertise brought him back. Not as himself, but as an augmented human: part man, part machine, and exceptionally capable.

The Medusa Chronicles charts his journey through time, the changing interaction between humanity and our universe, and combined moments of incredible action with unparalleled exploration of and expansion into space. A compelling read from the beginning, this is classic SF which has appeal for readers who like Gravity and The Martian.

Rate this book


Release date: May 2016
Genres: science fiction
Updated: March 05, 2022
Other books by Stephen Baxter
Raft7.34
Timelike Infinity (Xeelee Sequence #2)8.34
Anti-Ice
Flux (Xeelee Sequence #3)
Ring (Xeelee Sequence #4)
The Time Ships
Voyage
Titan (NASA Trilogy #2)
GulliverZone
Vacuum Diagrams (Xeelee Sequence #5)
Moonseed (NASA Trilogy #3)
Traces
Webcrash (The Web #7)
Silverhair6.28
Time
Longtusk (Mammoth #2)6.38
Space (Manifold Trilogy #2)
The Light of Other Days
Reality Dust
Icebones (Mammoth #3)5.90
Origin (Manifold Trilogy #3)
Phase Space
Evolution
Riding the Rock
Time's Eye6.00
Coalescent
Behemoth
Exultant (Destiny's Children #2)
The Hunters of Pangaea
Mayflower II
Sunstorm (A Time Odyssey #2)6.00
Transcendent (Destiny's Children #3)
Resplendent
Emperor
Firstborn (A Time Odyssey #3)6.66
Conqueror (Time's Tapestry #2)
Navigator (Time's Tapestry #3)
The H-Bomb Girl
Weaver (Time's Tapestry #4)
Flood8.00
Starfall
Ark (Flood #2)8.34
Xeelee: An Omnibus
Stone Spring
Gravity Dreams
Bronze Summer (Northland #2)
Last and First Contacts
The Long Earth7.42
The Wheel of Ice
Iron Winter (Northland #3)
Universes
The Long War (The Long Earth #2)7.28
Proxima
The Long Mars (The Long Earth #3)6.46
Ultima (Proxima #2)
Landfall: Tales from the Flood/Ark Universe
Newton's Aliens: Tales from the Anti-Ice Universe
The Paradox Conspiracy: Tales from the Jones & Bennet Universe
The Long Utopia (The Long Earth #4)7.58
Xeelee: Endurance
Project Clio
The Long Cosmos (The Long Earth #5)6.70
Obelisk
The Massacre of Mankind
Xeelee: Vengeance
Xeelee: Redemption
World Engines: Destroyer
World Engines: Creator (World Engines #2)
Galaxias8.00