A Closed and Common Orbit

by Becky Chambers
A Closed and Common Orbit (Wayfarers #2) - Becky Chambers 8.14   7

Arthur C. Clarke Award nominee 2017, Hugo Award nominee 2017.

Embark on an exciting, adventurous, and dangerous journey through the galaxy with the motley crew of the spaceship Wayfarer in this fun and heart-warming space opera — the sequel to the acclaimed The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet

Lovelace was once merely a ship’s artificial intelligence. When she wakes up in a new body, following a total system shut-down and reboot, she has no memory of what came before. As Lovelace learns to negotiate the universe and discover who she is, she makes friends with Pepper, an excitable engineer, who’s determined to help her learn and grow.

Together, Pepper and Lovey will discover that no matter how vast space is, two people can fill it together.

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet introduced readers to the incredible world of Rosemary Harper, a young woman with a restless soul and secrets to keep. When she joined the crew of the Wayfarer, an intergalactic ship, she got more than she bargained for - and learned to live with, and love, her rag-tag collection of crewmates.

A Closed and Common Orbit is the stand-alone sequel to Becky Chambers’ beloved debut novel The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet and is perfect for fans of Firefly, Joss Whedon, Mass Effect, and Star Wars.


Release date October 18, 2016

Details updated March 3, 2022

Rate this book
Choose a shelf for this book

Wayfarers :: Series

Series contains 4 primary works and has 4 total works.

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet (Wayfarers #1) 7.72   11
A Closed and Common Orbit (Wayfarers #2) 8.14   7
Record of a Spaceborn Few (Wayfarers #3) 7.60   5
The Galaxy, and the Ground Within (Wayfarers #4) 8.50   4

Community Reviews & Rates

Mikal Wilkins
Mikal Wilkins
3 ratings
0 reviews
0 posts
November 6, 2021
8 / 10
Gave rating to this book
Elviira
Elviira
550 ratings
0 reviews
0 posts
June 22, 2021
8 / 10
Gave rating to this book
Jussi
Jussi
1535 ratings
0 reviews
132 posts
January 4, 2021
7 / 10
Gave rating to this book
Salka
Salka
652 ratings
0 reviews
0 posts
August 28, 2019
10 / 10
Gave rating to this book
Elke
Elke
272 ratings
29 reviews
8 posts
January 11, 2018
9 / 10
Gave rating to this book
Lis
Lis
1043 ratings
0 reviews
0 posts
July 31, 2017
8 / 10
Gave rating to this book
Vierran
Vierran
1716 ratings
1 reviews
13 posts
June 13, 2017
7 / 10
Gave rating to this book